A playing partner hit a shot towards the green and hit a stake that the ground staff had installed to protect a recovering wet patch near the green (a rope was strung between 2 stakes). The ball deflected away from the green. The player wanted to replay the shot but in reality he had played a pretty ordinary shot, the stake/s weren't anywhere near his line of play.
At one of the clubs we play at, there is a local rule that if you do hit a stake, you can replay the shot without penalty.
That rule isn't in place at the club where this incident occurred.
As his marker, I didn't think he could claim relief.
Any views on this?