13 replies to this topic

#1 Devongolfer

Devongolfer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1334 posts

Posted 30 March 2021 - 01:01 AM

I have been working on swing mechanics seriously for 8 or 9 years. I want to organise my thoughts as best I can and post them on isg as way of wrapping up my swing mechanics journey in a tidy manner.

BACKGROUND
I first hit a golf ball when I was 14. I am now 65, so over 50 years of playing albeit with a few gaps. Most of that time I have been in the 7-12 handicap range. But in all that time I was a lousy ball striker. If you are interested in how a lousy ball striker can be a single figure golfer, I did a long thread on isg called "single figures without swing mechanics".

MY KEY LESSONS LEARNED
1: Hitting from the top is instinctive. Options for fixing or coping.
2: You need the right shoulder moving "down plane" on the down swing. Why? Why is that difficult? How can you make this easier to do?
3: The dangers of getting "stuck" with the club too far behind you

There are a number of "gotchas" hidden in these topics that guarantee lousy ball striking. The reason it has taken me so long to get to where I am now is because either I did not know about them, or because I did not know how impossible it was for me to avoid them if I followed conventional instruction.

HITTING FROM THE TOP IS INSTINCTIVE
It seems obvious that a golf swing is a two step process: backswing, hit the ball.

There are different ways to swing a club, and one of them really is like this, more on that later.

But all the other methods should really be thought of as: backswing, transition move, hit the ball. The reason is that a typical backswing moves the club into an above plane position from which you shouldn't hit at the ball.