Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball In Play Match Play Situatipn


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#31 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 08 September 2020 - 04:19 PM

You are quite right in the  specific context of the ball in a penalty area.



#32 Bogey Golfer

Bogey Golfer

    metronome

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10214 posts

Posted 08 September 2020 - 07:13 PM

Does Wendy's response say that, "I rest may case" on Who plays next?

 

Who plays first 

 

What plays second.


Edited by Bogey Golfer, 08 September 2020 - 07:34 PM.

2017 OOM winner at Growling Frog.

2016 A grade winner Moonah legends OOM4.

2015 member of team Vision winners of SGC pennant.

2014 National ISG champion

2014 winner Kooindah waters

2014 winner Magenta shores


2014 first ever hole in 1 in an ISG event, 4th Hole Kooindah waters 19th October

2012 winner of BHIC and gaining a 5 year exemption


#33 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2100 posts

Posted 08 September 2020 - 09:06 PM

Who plays first 
 
What plays second.


B is entitled to play first.
A must wait.
B can allow A to play before him. He can invite him to do that.. But no shot cancelling if he makes the invite and A plays the next stroke.

#34 rulie

rulie

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 09 September 2020 - 12:12 AM

Who plays first 

 

What plays second.

Where is "I don't know"?


  • Bogey Golfer likes this

#35 Bogey Golfer

Bogey Golfer

    metronome

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10214 posts

Posted 09 September 2020 - 03:11 AM

Where is "I don't know"?

 

I dunno who plays third, depend on how Who or What hit their ball.

 

 

seriously

 thank you for clarifying the ruling. it certainly points out that the rules of golf are still too difficult and why most players in the described situation can easily make a mistake.

 

I will remember this one as it could occur in pennant next year.


Edited by Bogey Golfer, 09 September 2020 - 03:27 AM.

  • languid likes this

2017 OOM winner at Growling Frog.

2016 A grade winner Moonah legends OOM4.

2015 member of team Vision winners of SGC pennant.

2014 National ISG champion

2014 winner Kooindah waters

2014 winner Magenta shores


2014 first ever hole in 1 in an ISG event, 4th Hole Kooindah waters 19th October

2012 winner of BHIC and gaining a 5 year exemption


#36 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2100 posts

Posted 09 September 2020 - 10:42 AM


This is what happens next.
A accepts B’s invitation to play.
A makes good contact but the ball goes into a Red Penalty Area not far from the green.
B’s shot is pure lands two metres past the hole, spins and rolls to 30 cm of the hole.
A applauds B’s shot and concedes the hole and the match with no possible chance left to salvage the situation.
B wins 3 and 1 after a closely fought match.
They are exchange virtual handshakes.
Back in the Clubhouse the result is posted,
Careful to observe social distancing they enjoy a few beers and some laughs.
Goldy will be pleased it’s over and a happy ending.
There was no third shot, BG.

#37 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25761 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 09 September 2020 - 01:55 PM

I will remember this one as it could occur in pennant next year.


It's country pennant, no one cares about details, they just play ready golf. The honour off each tee is about the only formality that is usually observed. Order of play is sometimes observed on greens. The main thing that most players are concerned with is that they have enough beer for 18 holes just in case their match goes that far.
  • Bogey Golfer likes this
Golflink
Olinda Golf Club
Warragul Country Club
People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
West Gippsland Veterans Champion 2017 & 2018
Olinda Golf Club B Grade champion 2018
Warragul Country Club C Grade champion 2019

#38 Bogey Golfer

Bogey Golfer

    metronome

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10214 posts

Posted 09 September 2020 - 04:06 PM

This is what happens next.
A accepts B’s invitation to play.
A makes good contact but the ball goes into a Red Penalty Area not far from the green.
B’s shot is pure lands two metres past the hole, spins and rolls to 30 cm of the hole.
A applauds B’s shot and concedes the hole and the match with no possible chance left to salvage the situation.
B wins 3 and 1 after a closely fought match.
They are exchange virtual handshakes.
Back in the Clubhouse the result is posted,
Careful to observe social distancing they enjoy a few beers and some laughs.
Goldy will be pleased it’s over and a happy ending.
There was no third shot, BG.

 

 Languid

this is what I meant when I said 

who plays first and what plays second.

 

thought you might have seen this before reminded me of this question.

enjoy it 

 


Edited by Bogey Golfer, 09 September 2020 - 04:08 PM.

  • languid likes this

2017 OOM winner at Growling Frog.

2016 A grade winner Moonah legends OOM4.

2015 member of team Vision winners of SGC pennant.

2014 National ISG champion

2014 winner Kooindah waters

2014 winner Magenta shores


2014 first ever hole in 1 in an ISG event, 4th Hole Kooindah waters 19th October

2012 winner of BHIC and gaining a 5 year exemption





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users