Jump to content


 

Photo

Hole In One


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#16 Halfer5

Halfer5

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 14 November 2019 - 11:03 PM

Who would do that?


Depending on the wind I’ve played Driver and been short and 7i and been long (and a number of variants in between) on the 16th at Carnoustie. Never been near a HIO there though.

#17 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 43503 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 15 November 2019 - 06:16 AM

Have never used my driver on a par 3...but I know someone who does! B)


I think I used mine once on the 17th at Hope Island into a roaring gale
  • Francie likes this

Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

2018 Nationals 4BBB Champion with Commish
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 2 round at Kooralbyn

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 3 round at Sanctuary Cove Pines
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#18 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40024 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 15 November 2019 - 11:31 AM

Depending on the wind I’ve played Driver and been short and 7i and been long (and a number of variants in between) on the 16th at Carnoustie. Never been near a HIO there though.

 

That makes 2 of us.


Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015
Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016
Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid, Srixon AD333 ball
Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017
Winner B grade OOM Curlewis 2018

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013

C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel
3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals
C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel
C Grade LD Growling Frog 11/8/18, blah blah blah,,,,this is getting to be almost monotonous.....

C Grade LD Growling Frog 1/9/18,...maybe these are now so commonplace I should just stop listing them

Never contended for the trophy named for me

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.

#19 PerryGroves

PerryGroves

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts

Posted 15 November 2019 - 11:34 AM

I think I used mine once on the 17th at Hope Island into a roaring gale

Mate from work had a HIO with his 3 wood on 17...….no comp, might as well have hit it in the piss.


  • Francie, iRON MiCK and Goldy like this

#20 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 43503 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 15 November 2019 - 12:32 PM

Mate from work had a HIO with his 3 wood on 17...….no comp, might as well have hit it in the piss.


I'm gunna take it

Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

2018 Nationals 4BBB Champion with Commish
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 2 round at Kooralbyn

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 3 round at Sanctuary Cove Pines
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#21 rockatansky

rockatansky

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2016 posts

Posted 19 November 2019 - 02:54 PM

No Chance..

 

Dream on pal



#22 Daniel456

Daniel456

    Suspect

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 December 2019 - 08:24 PM

No comp no hio (2). Lmao



#23 Shank

Shank

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 14 January 2020 - 11:07 PM

Sorry to tag on this subject to ask a question.

 

If a player scored a hole in one in a comp, but was later disqualified owing to using wrong handicap.  Does he get to keep his Hole in One prize, or would he be disqualified not only from the competition ranking, but everything?



#24 Crankyscott

Crankyscott

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 15 January 2020 - 08:21 AM

I'm suprise that someone would say that if it's not a comp then the hole in one doesn't count. Can I ask what a hole in one counts for?
It's just a golf shot that went in off the tee isn't it? Whether there is a prize or official recognition seems irrelevant.

#25 Shank

Shank

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 15 January 2020 - 02:49 PM

Thanks Crankyscott, 

Just that I read somewhere the USGA guideline for a valid Hole in One has to be in an official competition, must played at least 9 holes, and temporary greens are not accepted.  So the question is if a player is disqualified from a competition, is he still eligible to be counted as officially having a Hole-in-One.   I quoted in the example of using the wrong handicap because an ace has really no bearing on whether he has a high handicap or a low handicap.  But does the wrong handicap matter?



#26 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25624 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 15 January 2020 - 02:53 PM

If he played in a comp, it should still be a valid HIO.
Golflink
Olinda Golf Club
Warragul Country Club
People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
West Gippsland Veterans Champion 2017 & 2018
Olinda Golf Club B Grade champion 2018
Warragul Country Club C Grade champion 2019

#27 Crankyscott

Crankyscott

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 16 January 2020 - 06:32 AM

You mean counted by the club/organiser of the competition as having a hole in one? It's a question for the club in question. The USGA guidelines are just that. Guidelines.
In the end, the prize/recognition seems not that important surely. The hole in one happens by fact, not by rule. If you hit your tee shot into the hole it's a hole in one. Could happen on a par 5 or a temporary tee and temporary green par 3 on a par 3 course. Playing by yourself or in the Open Championship. They all happened.

#28 Shank

Shank

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 17 January 2020 - 06:24 AM

Hmmm...  Thanks for pointing out that they are just guidelines.  So despite such published articles below, we can still ignore them ?

 

https://golftips.gol...rules-1846.html

https://www.golf.com...e-doesnt-count/

 

In fact, in one of those 21 doesn't count conditions, a player's score card being not signed kills his hole-in-one "recognition".  So it follows on same logic, if a player is disqualified owing to wrong handicap, his hole-in-one will not be counted.  :(   



#29 Crankyscott

Crankyscott

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 17 January 2020 - 08:21 AM

I read the USGA guidelines here.
https://www.usga.org...dx=148&Rule=100

Not suggesting anything other than a hole in one is a factual thing, no one can take it away from you. You hit the ball into the hole from the tee
that's a hole in one. They CAN it seems take away your recognition.

#30 Shank

Shank

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 17 January 2020 - 10:55 PM

Thanks Crankyscott for your insight.  Yes, it is a fact that nobody can deny. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users