Jump to content


 

Photo

Will There Be A Change To The Rules After Ricky's Incident?


  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#91 Forrest Gardener

Forrest Gardener

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts

Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:21 AM

You do come out with some right nonsense sometimes.   :)

 

Hey. You started it :lol:


Edited by Forrest Gardener, 11 February 2019 - 04:26 AM.

Titleist Performance Institute Certified

forrestgardener.wordpress.com
Golflink


#92 Forrest Gardener

Forrest Gardener

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 836 posts

Posted 11 February 2019 - 04:28 AM

Maybe the USPGA tour have learnt a lesson from this - not to shave steep slopes above a hazard where dropping a ball from a hazard can lead to a similar incidents.

 

Augusta National have a few of these slopes as well.


Titleist Performance Institute Certified

forrestgardener.wordpress.com
Golflink


#93 Old Poppy

Old Poppy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5839 posts

Posted 11 February 2019 - 07:18 AM

Augusta National have a few of these slopes as well.

Can you remember Sergio playing wedge shots to a right pin on 12 (?) that kept spinning back into the hazard?

The US Tour doesn't control the US Masters.

#94 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1700 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 11 February 2019 - 09:47 AM

The current Rule has a bad look and is unnecessarily punitive.
These types “bad look” punitive Rules have largely gone with 2019 changes.

 

This was exactly my train of thought and why I propositioned the idea of the rule being changed in the future.


  • languid and Forrest Gardener like this

| GolfLink 


#95 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 12 February 2019 - 01:46 AM

This was exactly my train of thought and why I propositioned the idea of the rule being changed in the future.

Given that the outcome of a natural force moving a ball can be disadvantageous or advantageous - quite possibly over a period in equal measure - how can it be said to be punitive? In what way isn't it neutral and equitable?


Edited by ColinCL, 12 February 2019 - 01:47 AM.


#96 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1700 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 12 February 2019 - 07:33 AM

Given that the outcome of a natural force moving a ball can be disadvantageous or advantageous - quite possibly over a period in equal measure - how can it be said to be punitive? In what way isn't it neutral and equitable?

 

Don't get me wrong i don't think the rule is inequitable. I agree it will balance out given time, it was more along the lines of it being unnecessarily punitive.

 

I suppose one to look at it could be that when it favours a player it becomes punitive to the field/competitors. A player may select a location to take relief where there is a possibility the ball might roll towards the hole.

 

I understand the concerns regarding when does a ball become in play if this rule was to change but i don't think it would inherently be a difficult rule to work out. You could argue that it would likely go against the simplification brought in with the 2019 changes but considering how rare this would occur a simple note along side the rule wouldn't be the worst thing in the world.

 

Something along the lines of "if a ball dropped in a relief area moves out of the relief area before a stroke is made the ball is to be be re-dropped in the original relief area with no additional penalty"

 

I'm certainly no expert but i think it could be worded so that is doesn't specify whether the ball is play or not. So that regardless if the ball comes to rest or not, if it leaves the penalty area before a stroke, it gets re-dropped.


  • OldBogey, languid and Forrest Gardener like this

| GolfLink 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users