Jump to content


 

Photo

Relief

Rules

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Taxitezza

Taxitezza

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 06 November 2018 - 06:59 PM

Hi, in taking relief from hazards and such I know it’s two clubs from nearest point which I understand could very well be an inch outside and then two clubs, but a stake tree or bush is it one club from the ball or can I take complete relief from the bush/branches and then one club, a little confused, Tezza

#2 golfguy33

golfguy33

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2913 posts

Posted 06 November 2018 - 07:39 PM

First you have to determine the nearest point of relief, then you can take either one or two club lengths relief from there, depending on whether it's a free drop or under a penalty from a rule.

Jon...



#3 WendyD

WendyD

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts
  • LocationNewburgh, NY

Posted 06 November 2018 - 10:29 PM

From a lateral hazard(red stakes) you may drop a ball within 2 clublengthsof the point where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard. There is no "nearest point" for a hazard. 

 

For a staked tree(or casual water, abnormal ground conditions, cart paths, etc. you find the nearest point, no nearer the hole) where you have complete relief. Then 1 clublength from there.


  • Monty85 likes this

#4 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3187 posts

Posted 07 November 2018 - 04:38 AM

Hi, in taking relief from hazards and such I know it’s two clubs from nearest point which I understand could very well be an inch outside and then two clubs, 

There are two other relief options from a water hazard.

 

But note that bunker is also a 'hazard' and currently you don't get relief from bunkers



#5 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3024 posts

Posted 07 November 2018 - 07:25 PM

I was expecting an entirely different type of thread.


  • CaNadiAn MiCk, Bluethunda and Deege like this

#6 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 551 posts

Posted 08 November 2018 - 11:28 AM

I was expecting an entirely different type of thread.

Go use the washroom (and don't hurry back?).  :rolleyes:


Edited by rogolf, 08 November 2018 - 11:29 AM.

  • CaNadiAn MiCk likes this

#7 Bluethunda

Bluethunda

    ISG AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL 4BBB CHAMPION, WITH HARRO

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17885 posts

Posted 08 November 2018 - 08:50 PM

Go use the washroom (and don't hurry back?).  :rolleyes:

was mentioned in another thread on here just a few days ago.........
DEBUT: US Masters, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA 2016
DEBUT: ANA Inspirational LPGA Mission Hills, Palm Springs, CA 2016
Reacquainted myself with Karrie Webb, Australia's Greatest Golfer

#8 The B T

The B T

    Non Caring or Playing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1454 posts
  • LocationOuter circle

Posted 09 November 2018 - 03:15 PM

never smart to play with blue balls


“I will put my b***s in your mouth. And I will give you some money to make you feel good.”

 

Just Counting my money. “I don’t care about that match point—would you care if you were 23 and worth over $10 million?”

 

Nothing is my fault!

 

I'm Granking!

 

 
 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Rules

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users