Jump to content


 

Photo

Where To Drop?


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11278 posts
  • LocationBrisbane

Posted 17 September 2017 - 09:16 PM

I'm a little scared for some of the responses i will get, but here goes.


A few of our bunkers were underwater on saturday after the Friday night deluge.

One in particular was on the 7th, just right of the green

The bunker was full of water on the low side were a playing partners tee shot went. Obviously the casual water thing comes into play.

But if the bunker is full, is a drop out of the bunker ok? He could have gone further up the bunker, but that would have been nearer the hole.

As it was, the run of was horrific out of the bunker, so the place we all assumed he could drop was a few metres further back, but it was in the fairway with a mint lie.

Is this right?

#2 koiom K. Asterisk*

koiom K. Asterisk*

    I got this

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12265 posts
  • LocationJDM heaven

Posted 17 September 2017 - 09:33 PM

Dont you have to incur a 1 shot penalty if you're forced to take relief back out of the bunker?
You also have to keep the line with the pin.
You can go as far back as you want though.
Similar to taking an unplayable.
http://www.golf.org....icap/3011891841

2014 Heritage OOM#3 A Grade Winner
2014 Bendigo Slog Pairs Winner with Ghetto
2014 Vic ISG Matchplay Runner Up
2015 Vic ISG Matchplay Semi Finalist
2016 Keysborough GC April Medal Winner
2016 ISG Race to 6 Winner
2017 Torquay OOM#3 A Grade Winner
2017 Overall A Grade OOM Winner
2017 Vic ISG Goldy Trophy Runner Up
2018 Bacon Wide Tour Keysie Invitational Winner
2018 ISG National Champion*
2018 Stink/GPJ Trophy Winner Gardiners Run OOM
Have never been beaten by Mick off the stick

#3 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Swing like......

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16309 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 17 September 2017 - 10:07 PM

Local rule in play?

18.0 by Dec  2019  - 2.0 to go

 

2017 VIC ISG OOM "The Goldy" Overall Tour Championship Winner*

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Grank" founding member

 

* LoL

 

 

 


#4 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3277 posts

Posted 17 September 2017 - 10:26 PM

Dont you have to incur a 1 shot penalty if you're forced to take relief back out of the bunker?
You also have to keep the line with the pin.
You can go as far back as you want though.
Similar to taking an unplayable.

Not quite. That is the only option for dropping outside a bunker. It is called the 'flagline'.

Unplayable gives you three options.



#5 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3277 posts

Posted 17 September 2017 - 10:33 PM

I'm a little scared for some of the responses i will get, but here goes.


A few of our bunkers were underwater on saturday after the Friday night deluge.

One in particular was on the 7th, just right of the green

The bunker was full of water on the low side were a playing partners tee shot went. Obviously the casual water thing comes into play.

But if the bunker is full, is a drop out of the bunker ok? He could have gone further up the bunker, but that would have been nearer the hole.

As it was, the run of was horrific out of the bunker, so the place we all assumed he could drop was a few metres further back, but it was in the fairway with a mint lie.

Is this right?

In this situation, relief does not have to be full relief. 

 

if complete relief is impossible, (drop) as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on a part of the course in the bunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition

 

Which means the ball or his feet could still be in the water.

 

As mentioned, the committee could have made a local rule deeming that bunker as GUR. The effect would be to also lose its status as a bunker and make it Through the Green.



#6 Joe79

Joe79

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3052 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 18 September 2017 - 07:50 AM

So in other words he would either have to drop as close to point where maximum not complete relief could be taken (thus meaning the ball or feet could in the water) and have to play as it lay?

Otherwise Unplayable and goes with the options for unplayable with a 1 stroke penalty?


OOM 4 2017 Moonah Open C Grade and Overall Winner - 39pts
OOM 1 2018 Growling Frog B Grade and Overall Winner - 40pts

Cap: 15.4 Gamegolf

WITB:
Primary: X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi Stiff | Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tour 3I on Project X 5.5 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on Project X 5.5 Stiff Shafts | Mack Daddy 2 56* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 60* bent to 58* | Odyssey Works Metal-X #1 (2013) |

Spare: Big Bertha Mini on Aldila Tour Green Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 52* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 56* bent to 58* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |

#7 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3277 posts

Posted 18 September 2017 - 06:18 PM

In the bunker

He would either have to drop as close to point where maximum not complete relief could be taken (thus meaning the ball or feet could in the water) or have to play as it lay

 

Outside the bunker

Unplayable and goes with the only permissible option for unplayable in the case of a bunker (ie flagline) with a 1 stroke penalty


  • Joe79 likes this

#8 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 692 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 19 September 2017 - 07:02 PM

 

In the bunker

He would either have to drop as close to point where maximum not complete relief could be taken (thus meaning the ball or feet could in the water) or have to play as it lay

 

Outside the bunker

Unplayable and goes with the only permissible option for unplayable in the case of a bunker (ie flagline) with a 1 stroke penalty

 

 

I fear  you've confused what you made clear earlier about the difference between relief from casual water and from an unplayable ball in a bunker!  

 

Maybe a summary will help others:

 

Relief from casual water in a bunker [R25-1b (ii)]

In the bunker - within 1 club length of nearest point of relief  or point of nearest maximum relief not nearer the hole without penalty;

or,

outside the bunker  - as far back on the flagline as you like anywhere with a 1 stroke penalty.

 

Relief from unplayable ball in a bunker [R28]

Dropping in the bunker - within two club lengths of the ball or on the flagline as far back as you likewith a 1 stroke penalty.

Outside the bunker -  playing from where you played your previous stroke with a 1 stroke penalty (stroke and distance).  


Edited by ColinCL, 19 September 2017 - 07:03 PM.

  • Joe79 likes this

#9 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Swing like......

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16309 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 19 September 2017 - 08:06 PM

So if a bunker is full of water due to unforseen weather conditions and you cannot get a dry lie in the bunker no nearer the hole you must drop outside the bunker and cop a 1 shot penalty. Unless a local law is in place stating bunkers are either out of play or if flooded GUR.

18.0 by Dec  2019  - 2.0 to go

 

2017 VIC ISG OOM "The Goldy" Overall Tour Championship Winner*

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Grank" founding member

 

* LoL

 

 

 


#10 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40032 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 19 September 2017 - 08:10 PM

Don't worry about it Mick.

We'll tell you to hurry the fark up and wipe the damn hole.
  • RobNewy, iRON MiCK and koiom K. Asterisk* like this
Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015
Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016
Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid, Srixon AD333 ball
Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017
Winner B grade OOM Curlewis 2018

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013

C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel
3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals
C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel
C Grade LD Growling Frog 11/8/18, blah blah blah,,,,this is getting to be almost monotonous.....

C Grade LD Growling Frog 1/9/18,...maybe these are now so commonplace I should just stop listing them

Never contended for the trophy named for me

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.

#11 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11278 posts
  • LocationBrisbane

Posted 19 September 2017 - 08:41 PM

So if a bunker is full of water due to unforseen weather conditions and you cannot get a dry lie in the bunker no nearer the hole you must drop outside the bunker and cop a 1 shot penalty. Unless a local law is in place stating bunkers are either out of play or if flooded GUR.


Seems that way.
Crap rule really

#12 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25647 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 19 September 2017 - 09:57 PM

So if a bunker is full of water due to unforseen weather conditions and you cannot get a dry lie in the bunker no nearer the hole you must drop outside the bunker and cop a 1 shot penalty. Unless a local law is in place stating bunkers are either out of play or if flooded GUR.


You can still drop in the bunker where the water isn't as deep, provided no nearer to the hole, without a penalty.

Usually, if you are taking relief from casual water, GUR, paths, you have to take full relief. i.e. both stance and lie of the ball. However, bunkers have limits and full relief may not be possible within the bunker. If you want to drop out of the bunker, it'll cost you a stroke.
Golflink
Olinda Golf Club
Warragul Country Club
People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.
West Gippsland Veterans Champion 2017 & 2018
Olinda Golf Club B Grade champion 2018
Warragul Country Club C Grade champion 2019

#13 Turfers Paradise

Turfers Paradise

    2019 GCSAQ Queensland Champion

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18167 posts

Posted 20 September 2017 - 03:54 AM

Lazy captain should have been around and made a decision, and written on local
Rule board
DEBUT: US Masters, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA 2016
DEBUT: ANA Inspirational LPGA Mission Hills, Palm Springs, CA 2016
Reacquainted myself with Karrie Webb, Australia's Greatest Golfer
Winner C Grade Gross 90/70 01/06/2019 Monthly Medal


‘99% of short putts do go in, they are the leftovers of your original putt’

#14 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3277 posts

Posted 20 September 2017 - 05:39 AM

I fear  you've confused what you made clear earlier about the difference between relief from casual water and from an unplayable ball in a bunker!  

 

Maybe a summary will help others:

 

Relief from casual water in a bunker [R25-1b (ii)]

In the bunker - within 1 club length of nearest point of relief  or point of nearest maximum relief not nearer the hole without penalty;

or,

outside the bunker  - as far back on the flagline as you like anywhere with a 1 stroke penalty.

 

Relief from unplayable ball in a bunker [R28]

Dropping in the bunker - within two club lengths of the ball or on the flagline as far back as you likewith a 1 stroke penalty.

Outside the bunker -  playing from where you played your previous stroke with a 1 stroke penalty (stroke and distance).  

Goodness know what happened to the last part of my answer above I can't even understand what I seem to have typed. 

I blame the Rioja.


  • CaNadiAn MiCk and Joe79 like this

#15 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 692 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 20 September 2017 - 04:18 PM

Goodness know what happened to the last part of my answer above I can't even understand what I seem to have typed. 

I blame the Rioja.

 

Robert Browning, the poet, is reputed to have said when asked what a line in a poem meant, "When I wrote that, Robert Browning and God knew what it meant; now only God knows."

 

Provided He has not been on the Rioja, the Almighty presumably still knows what you meant to say. :)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users