Jump to content


 

Photo

Slow Play And Self Awareness

slow play improvement pre shot awareness advice

  • Please log in to reply
427 replies to this topic

#61 Shreksm

Shreksm

    NooB

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2239 posts
  • LocationGod's Country

Posted 25 June 2015 - 06:57 PM

yep you are slow mate

not noticed on the T but the green absolutely.

when we played at s/lakes when we found the snake and Kioiom tried to look down the wrong end of my laser i have nearly gone to sleep on the greens.

 

It may be an "A" grade thing??,

I dont think so.

 

Most peeps dont like to be told they are slow & most peeps are to scared of the conflict involved with telling someone they are slow.

 

like you alluded to we all know how to go faster but no one it seems can pull it off.

 

weetie and his damn gripping and regripping (a la sergio) is a classic eg

 

i have had digs for slow play esp on putting too so i asked mattysnaphookerson & Russssssssssssssssss and sev others (whom i respect opionons on) if i was slow.

They gave me their appraisal and so i sped up

again the little legs is a burden.

 

respect Bru

 

I know you don't respect my opinion angry man so here goes.................pick up your pace sunshine and stop holding up the field you inconsiderate ****!!!! :blink:


Edited by Shreksm, 25 June 2015 - 06:58 PM.

  • Turfers Paradise likes this

#62 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 43513 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 June 2015 - 07:08 PM

wheetie (fthats 6)

Can we get an 8 (for one)


You know I've never had an 8 for 1!

Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

2018 Nationals 4BBB Champion with Commish
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 2 round at Kooralbyn

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 3 round at Sanctuary Cove Pines
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#63 Shanks4ever

Shanks4ever

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3169 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 07:16 PM

What are they doing with their phones? Texting?

Yep and checking facebook and all those other social networking sites, possibly not tinder because most of the women are 50 years + on the course. :lol:

 

They are not using it as GPS, they all have range finders.


Edited by Shanks4ever, 25 June 2015 - 07:18 PM.


#64 Kiwi

Kiwi

    Wholly Awesomeness

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24065 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 07:52 PM

I know you don't respect my opinion angry man so here goes.................pick up your pace sunshine and stop holding up the field you inconsiderate ****!!!! :blink:

you lost me @ "i know" :D


Edited by Kiwi, 25 June 2015 - 07:52 PM.

  • Shreksm likes this
Half the Trentham dream team

#65 djcraig

djcraig

    Both short & long

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 664 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 08:10 PM

I may have been exaggerating for effect - the ball only moved off its mark once. The ball moved while i was taking my address on the green but before I started the stroke. 

 

Under rule

18-1 if a ball at rest is moved by an outside agency there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced  (NOTE - Wind is not considered an outside agency)

 

Therefore rule 18.2 B states:

 

If a ball in play moves after has addressed it  (other than the result of a stroke) the player is deemed to have moved the ball and incurs a penalty of one stroke. 
The ball must be replaced, unless the movement occurs after the player has begun the stroke....

Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the player did not cause his ball to move 18-2b does not apply.  

 

In my case the ball moved at 90 degrees to the line of the putt ie across and in front of the putter face and in the direction of the wind therefore we were all 'virtually certain' I did not cause the ball to move. At this point and after confirming with my playing partners I replaced the ball and proceeded to then miss the putt...

 

However after just reading the roles book I am now uncertain if my actions were correct. Can someone advise and please point me towards the correct rule in the book. 


You might feel like your swing looks like an elegant swan floating on a calm lake with the sun glistening down and creating beautiful light reflections on the water,

 

But it more than likely looks like a drowning elephant.


#66 djcraig

djcraig

    Both short & long

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 664 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 08:14 PM

you lost me @ "i know" :D

 

Good for you Kiwi - you dont have to listen to to someone that has ears that look like little green vuvuzelas


You might feel like your swing looks like an elegant swan floating on a calm lake with the sun glistening down and creating beautiful light reflections on the water,

 

But it more than likely looks like a drowning elephant.


#67 2Putts

2Putts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9877 posts
  • LocationAs Above

Posted 25 June 2015 - 08:34 PM

 

In my case the ball moved at 90 degrees to the line of the putt ie across and in front of the putter face and in the direction of the wind therefore we were all 'virtually certain' I did not cause the ball to move. At this point and after confirming with my playing partners I replaced the ball and proceeded to then miss the putt...

 

However after just reading the roles book I am now uncertain if my actions were correct. Can someone advise and please point me towards the correct rule in the book. 

 

DJ, a ball moved by the wind should be played from its new position .. the decision below under Rule 18-2a covers this :)

 

18-2a/7 Ball Moved by Wind Replaced

 

http://www.randa.org...D5-4A07DC86ECB3


Edited by 2Putts, 25 June 2015 - 08:37 PM.

If your dad doesn't have a beard then you've got two mums ....

 

https://www.golf.org...icap/2121701916


#68 Kiwi

Kiwi

    Wholly Awesomeness

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24065 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 09:15 PM

I know you don't respect my opinion angry man so here goes.................pick up your pace sunshine and stop holding up the field you inconsiderate ****!!!! :blink:


I was only angry once
When that farkin hack pro took the very last cart that russ & I had booked at water valley
& I came 2nd by a point = see a little more angry
The whole thing with you being the starter put me off.
Actually that's not true
mick the disprins slow play put me off.
  • Shreksm likes this
Half the Trentham dream team

#69 djcraig

djcraig

    Both short & long

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 664 posts

Posted 25 June 2015 - 09:49 PM

Thanks 2Putts - there is actually no mention of the situation in the rule book itself - 18-1 is not applicable and 18-2b is also not applicable due to the Exemption.

the book makes no mention of wind in 18-2a but in all instances under 18-2a the ball must be replaced in all instances.   

 

only answer is on the Q&A on the web. I dont doubt the R&A site is correct - I just struggle to find where in the rules it makes provision for it. The only place I can think of is 20-3 d but even then the ball must be replaced once before then playing from the new position.. 

 

In any case it made no difference on my points haul for the hole 


You might feel like your swing looks like an elegant swan floating on a calm lake with the sun glistening down and creating beautiful light reflections on the water,

 

But it more than likely looks like a drowning elephant.


#70 2Putts

2Putts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9877 posts
  • LocationAs Above

Posted 25 June 2015 - 10:25 PM

Thanks 2Putts - there is actually no mention of the situation in the rule book itself - 18-1 is not applicable and 18-2b is also not applicable due to the Exemption.

the book makes no mention of wind in 18-2a but in all instances under 18-2a the ball must be replaced in all instances.   

 

only answer is on the Q&A on the web. I dont doubt the R&A site is correct - I just struggle to find where in the rules it makes provision for it. The only place I can think of is 20-3 d but even then the ball must be replaced once before then playing from the new position.. 

 

In any case it made no difference on my points haul for the hole 

 

Yeah mate like you say Base Rule18-2a doesn't make direct provision for it  .....that is pretty much how the two ruling bodies (R&A, USGA) cover as many situations as they can .... The Rule Book is supposed to be a general guide; then we're supposed to look at the Decisions to cover specific situations ....but it's a bit of a bun fight finding the exact decision sometimes :wacko:

 

Too hard on the course anyway so .....everybody happy ... yep .... move on  B)


Edited by 2Putts, 25 June 2015 - 10:32 PM.

If your dad doesn't have a beard then you've got two mums ....

 

https://www.golf.org...icap/2121701916


#71 Shreksm

Shreksm

    NooB

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2239 posts
  • LocationGod's Country

Posted 26 June 2015 - 08:43 AM

I was only angry once
When that farkin hack pro took the very last cart that russ & I had booked at water valley
& I came 2nd by a point = see a little more angry
The whole thing with you being the starter put me off.
Actually that's not true
mick the disprins slow play put me off.

 

Where is the Mighty Iron one?

Waggle Waggle Waggle  :lol:



#72 Kiwi

Kiwi

    Wholly Awesomeness

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24065 posts

Posted 26 June 2015 - 01:29 PM

Where is the Mighty Iron one?
Waggle Waggle Waggle :lol:


Sad sacked it.......
Half the Trentham dream team

#73 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8975 posts
  • LocationI can see clearly now

Posted 26 June 2015 - 05:36 PM

I was only angry once
 

 

Hmmmm ...... I got nuthing

Say No More

:D :D :D :D


VTTP 006

 

 

 


#74 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 43513 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 26 June 2015 - 05:40 PM

He was only angry once

Since he arrived in Australia until now
  • Francie and Mr_C like this

Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

2018 Nationals 4BBB Champion with Commish
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 2 round at Kooralbyn

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 3 round at Sanctuary Cove Pines
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#75 Kiwi

Kiwi

    Wholly Awesomeness

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24065 posts

Posted 26 June 2015 - 05:44 PM

He was only angry once

Since he arrived in Australia until now

1987 - 20 something..........

at least i didnt get pinged for slow play :D


Half the Trentham dream team





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: slow play, improvement, pre shot, awareness, advice

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users