• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Squirrel plays golf

Squirrel plays golf

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 19 March 2015 - 12:31 PM

When I started playing golf, I quickly chucked my fairway woods out of the bag because I didn't feel comfortable hitting them (thin, fat, top, all of it an once). The longest club in my bag apart from driver has always been a 4 hybrid (which I love). I'm now thinking I need something in between driver and 4 hybrid. Can't decide if I should go with a 2 hybrid, a 5 wood or a 3 wood...

When I've had a hit with a 3 wood I still don't feel confident hitting it off the deck, but like it off the tee. Just not sure if it's worthwhile carrying one around just for that. Can't really say I'm much more accurate with a 3 wood compared to driver and may just be something I don't really end up using. Had a hit with a 3 hybrid, but not much difference compared to how I hit the 4, so it doesn't really bridge the gap. Decisions, decisions. Will probably end up with all of them...

What do you have in your bag? Is there a place for the 3 and 5 wood if you're already carrying hybrids? 

#2 Goldy

Goldy

Ed Rayner's love child

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 39964 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 19 March 2015 - 12:37 PM

My 3W comes for a walk...without getting used much these days. Sometimes off the tee...hardly ever off the fairway...it just brings the potential for BAD and WIPE right into the conversation.

I've had a TM 3&4 hybrid (superfast) for ages, and like you, didn't notice a huge difference in them. I now have a Callaway X2-Hot Pro with the reg Aldila green shaft...and it goes as far as the 3W. And is WAY easier to hit off the deck.

So experiment with 3 hybrids / shafts to see if you can get one that makes a difference to your current 4H..that'd be my tip.

Also...beware of accepting tips from choppers....

• Francie and FairwayBomber like this