• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 bartybates

bartybates

Suspect

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 February 2008 - 07:28 AM

I'm only new to golf and I have been wanting to join a club in my area so after looking through the map & the web I wrote down a list of clubs to call and inquire about membership and tuition. My first club I called was The Royal Sydney Golf Club. After waiting for a short period a woman answered and said I had phoned the The Royal Sydney Golf Club. I said politely that I was calling to inquire about becoming a member. She said something a long the lines of "You can't ask that", and then I was asked what I was calling for and how did I get the number etc. I then said I was just simply making some inquiries about membership and then she stuttered & stuttered again (as if in disbelief that someone would have the cheek to even ring the royal club about membership) and finally got the words out "We are not having this conversation" .. I was quite shocked at how rude she was and just said "that is weird" goodbye... I want to make it clear I was completely polite and punctual and I never said anything much more than what I wrote here. I put down the phone and sat there for a minute in total disbelief and I felt very disappointed. If I had never witnessed complete snobbery then I certainly had now. I had guessed that that club might have an exclusive membership or it would be expensive to join but I had never thought I would be treated to that. I never bothered calling any more clubs after that. Is this normal for this club to be so downright rude to someone that is simply calling to inquire about joining the club? One of the attractions I had to this club is that it is close to where I live in Bondi and it also has tennis courts as I love tennis. Now I'm not sure about calling any more clubs in my area after this. This is definitely the way to put people off taking up the game of golf.

#2 slickone

slickone

Advanced Member