Posts that Muggins is monitoring

Subscribe to Posts that Muggins is monitoring 70 posts found

Pages: 1 2 3

Mar 30, 2008
Av-634 TGR 604 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

bump for newbs

 
Feb 17, 2008
Av-12454 driver33b 34 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

A bloke I play with on Saturdays bought a set of r7 irons off a used car salesman…..he talked about them the week before and bought them in the next week….they were soo rough in the metal finish and the stickers on the back were lifting on the edges…he paid $500 for them…..I just shook my head and didn’t say a word, but he could tell by the look on my face. Funny thing is he gave them to his sister who runs a stall at the local Sunday markets…a bloke looked at them 1st week and brought a mate the next week and paid $550 for them….he has since told the mates’ sister that he has taken 2 shots off his handicap!!!! He loves them!!! Go figure!!!

 
Feb 11, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 davidmckenna 1 post

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

I bought FT-3 on ebay from a club pro at croydon GC. It was cheap and had a Draw adjustment, it made no difference to my slice. I went to Callaway for a fitout and they told me it was a fake. Went and bought a real one and struth what a difference, straighter, explosive sound and 20 -30 meters extra distance. I got done this time but have had plenty of wins on ebay with other stuff.

 
Feb 11, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 blake37au 1 post

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Hi everyone
I bought a taylor made 580 xd driver from a friend who got it from USA through a contact.
My cousin bought the same driver on Ebay and i noticed the serial number wasnt only in the same location as mine but the numbers were alot bigger. Im sure just from what i saw his is defenitely a fake

 
Feb 11, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 gfarmer@tenn... 2 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

I have bought a set of Callaway X18’s from the www.callawaypreowned.com site. I bought “Like New” condition – actually they were unused. I was able ot buy the exact spec I wanted ( small charge ot be factory lengthened) the correct lie angle, the correct shaft etc . They are guaranteed by Callaway – money back guarantee. They arrived by Fedex in 3 days ex USA. Total cost $850 ( al up – freight and insurance incl for 8 clubs ( 3-PW).

With the $A so high, it makes it well worth while.

I would not buy any golf club on ebay – just as I would not buy any golf club at a market in China. The whole reason to buy new clubs is to play better golf – not to walk around with fakes in your bag.

 
Feb 4, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 billymac 1 post

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

The cachet statement of saying that the clubs are coming from the USA is a great “Con line” and a lead in to scamming the targeted buyer. The majority of clubs from first line club makers in the USA are not heavily discounted from the suggested retail price (They are able to restrict sales only to those stores that abide by the suggested /agreed retail pricing structure.
Mfrs such as Callaway even have their own sites dealing in used/traded in clubs, would suggest that interested buyers check out sites such as TGW.com, Edwin Watts, Golf Galaxy, GolfSmith etc.
Usually in the months of January/February/Sept/Oct Mfrg closeouts from prior years when a new model is being promoted are available at a good discount (If the clubs fit your playing profile then they become an excellent buy. (But know your Vendor/Seller)
Clones are a passable/similar to the original and are sold as such in the USA/but are not counterfeit copies made to decieve. The given name only bears a vague similarity. (Passes the USA copyright test)
Counterfeits in years past have been a major problem, but the US custom service has a heavy presence in investigating and prosecution said counterfeiters.
But and it is a large “but” !, the counterfeit clubs keep coming,it also goes for watches,bags,pharmaceuticals etc. etc.etc.
Your mantra,should be,”Know your vendor and watch your set-up).
Hit em hard, buy well and good golf.
Billy Mac/Illinois.

 
Jan 29, 2008
Av-6668 natnkyls 29 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

I purchased my pro-combo’s off ebay for $500, now if they are fakes they still seem to go pretty well, so the $1000 saved was well worth it.

Nathan

 
Jan 10, 2008
Av-20910 KycGolfer 1406 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Forget to say:
that imports (incl freight and all) of items > AUD 1000 incurs extra charges of duties and GST etc, otherwise none (except alcohol and tobacco)...see thread – Buying form USA.

Enjoy.

 
Jan 10, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Thanks for that guys.
I bought a set of (used) Taylor Made CGB irons (graphite shaft) from Global golf. Mint condition which says they were not actually used/hit, but possibly unsold stock or display items.

It was a better deal than even the possible fakes I linked previously. Approx $610. In case anyone is interested I’ll post back when I’ve received them and tell you the condition of the clubs.

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-634 TGR 604 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Globalgolf USA is reliable, they ship UPS so it gets here real fast 1 or 2 days usually.
Biggest Dealer of secondhand clubs in the world- basically they get all the US chains trade ins.

If after Callaway then try Callaway Preowned where they often have promotional coupons for discounts.

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-20910 KycGolfer 1406 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Sorry
I haven’t needed them yet, but
I checked out their site and their listing on eBay looks pretty OK (almost set up like the Callaway preowned site), looks like a big enough co. to buy from ?

I wrote to them a couple of times and they responded within 48 hours if I recall rightly

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Check out:

/ptid-1/bid—27/driver/taylor-made.aspx”>globalgolf.com

Have you used them before? Shipped to Australia without a problem?

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-20910 KycGolfer 1406 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Check out:

globalgolf.com

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-7031 Bunny 218 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Haha, like Marcus, I’m looking for something similar in Odyssey putters. If anyone knows of a serial number verification site or something like that, please post it up.

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Anything like that for Taylor Made’s? :)

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-20910 KycGolfer 1406 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

For Callaways Only:
I know besides the usual authorised retailers, the online store (US based) Callaway Golf preowned http://callawaygolfpreowned.com/
Sells genuine (but used) items, check it out ?

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

True, I contacted the guy who gave negative feedback and he was unhappy because the clubs took so long to arrive. But he did actually tell me he was very happy with the quality of the clubs and he had registered them with Callaway.

hmmmmmmmmmmm I wish I was rich hehe

I’ll take a look at Rockbottomgolf and Golfsmith. I want a full set, I’ve already been measured up at Drummond golf and the Taylor Made’s just felt right and are perfect off the shelf, they tested the angle of the club head and it was spot on middle, so I should be able to buy online without a problem.

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-5381 tingayj 50 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Millhouse,
might I suggest those anger management tapes you got on ebay were fake.

they sure arent working

AJ

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 tdoddsy 240 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Sorry stuffed the previous post, here’s the link…

Ebay TaylorMade Clubs

wouldnt go near that one. they have sold under 10 items and already have a negative and a neutral. clubs are way underpriced.

my advice. buy them from a reputable dealer eg 3balls golf, rock bottom or from the big online golf stores golfsmith, tgw

if you buy these you might be lucky and save some $$$ if they are real but theres a big question mark over whether these clubs are the real deal.

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Sorry stuffed the previous post, here’s the link…

Ebay TaylorMade Clubs

 
Jan 9, 2008
Av-634 TGR 604 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

stay away then

 
Jan 9, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 Marcus 24 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Can anyone advise me on these clubs?
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem

The guy has told me they are a distributor for Taylor Made and the clubs are imported from the US etc. etc.

But I can’t find an ABN for ‘futureworld’ and I’m a bit suss. I’ve asked some other buyers who had already received their clubs and they said they were very happy with them. But who know’s if they can tell if they are fake.

One guy registered his Callaway’s (bought from same person) online and said it wasn’t rejected or anything, but as other’s have said, maybe the serial number has been copied off legit clubs.

 
Jan 5, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 hack2scratch 229 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

I reckon if you stick with the big name US ebay sellers ie. rockbottom, 3balls, then you cant go wrong. They would not sell fake gear knowingly as it could ruin their reputation.

 
Jan 4, 2008
Iseekgolf_80 expatmatt 2 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

Most people buying clubs on ebay are making savings buying them from the USA so picking up the goods is out of the question.
Check ebay’s review page for Ping Raptures & 9 of the 27 comments (33%!!) are from ripped off customers who bought fakes.
I guess you should do as much as possible to check out the seller first:
Where possible request serial numbers of clubs & check them with manufacturer.
Check sellers feedback & ensure they have +ve feedback for golf equipment & not something unrelated.

 
Jan 3, 2008
Av-15135 Milhouse 102 posts

Topic: Spotting Fakes!

hey dikhead if you want to pay more for the same product then go right ahead…

Next page

Pages: 1 2 3