Interesting to see Bryson using a compass to work out his distance to the hole/margin for error.
There is a Decision:
A player uses a compass during a stipulated round to help determine the direction of the wind or the direction of the grain in the greens. Is the player in breach of Rule 14-3?
No. A compass only provides directional information and does not gauge or measure variable conditions or assist the player in his play."
But this is for a navigational device, not an architectural drawing tool.
Although I don't see a problem with what he was using/doing, the PGA Tour is going to look into (ask the USGA) about whether this is permissible.