Jump to content


 

Photo

Phil....2 Strokes Or Dq?


  • Please log in to reply
224 replies to this topic

#16 Bluethunda

Bluethunda

    ISG AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL 4BBB CHAMPION, WITH HARRO

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17321 posts
  • Location#KW #CHAMPION

Posted 17 June 2018 - 03:33 PM

Phil or Mick?

who cares......bout Phil.....
DEBUT: US Masters, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA 2016
DEBUT: ANA Inspirational LPGA Mission Hills, Palm Springs, CA 2016
Reacquainted myself with Karrie Webb, Australia's Greatest Golfer

#17 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1854 posts

Posted 17 June 2018 - 04:24 PM

who cares......bout Phil.....


His mum.

#18 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Moss Effect

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13364 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 17 June 2018 - 06:13 PM

Point being I would never have done what Phil did. I may have picked up after the putt went through the green and walked away to the next tee.

18.4 by Dec. 2018

 

2018 Keysborough GC Gala Team Event Winner

2017 VIC ISG OOM Overall Winner

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3023100698

"Team Frank" founding member

 

 


#19 Theguru

Theguru

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 662 posts

Posted 17 June 2018 - 06:39 PM

If Phil was a Chinese amateur playing his first major I reckon he would have been DQ’d

#20 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23930 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 17 June 2018 - 06:59 PM

Point being I would never have done what Phil did. I may have picked up after the putt went through the green and walked away to the next tee.


He wasn't playing stableford or par.
If he picks it up, he might as well walk off the course.

Bump was right, he could have just replayed the putt for a two stroke penalty.

#21 Littleman

Littleman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1340 posts
  • LocationCarving out the turns on the white stuff somewhere....

Posted 17 June 2018 - 07:39 PM

Wouldn’t taking an unplayable from a very player able lie and situation be worse and create a bigger uproar then what he did...

2015 BHIC Runner Up

2015 ISG match play champion

2015 B Grade Winner OOM#4 Heritage St Johns

2015 social golf pennant team winners (including undefeated in all matches)

2015 Overall Winner OOM #2 Settlers Run

http://www.golflink....10903029&skip=1


#22 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 17 June 2018 - 07:39 PM

He wasn't playing stableford or par.
If he picks it up, he might as well walk off the course.

Bump was right, he could have just replayed the putt for a two stroke penalty.

Stroke and distance  i.e. one stroke penalty



#23 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13035 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 17 June 2018 - 07:54 PM

Well we are both very good looking and quite intelligent...
  • VLAD likes this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#24 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23930 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 17 June 2018 - 08:31 PM

Stroke and distance  i.e. one stroke penalty


Quite correct, Colin. The stroke he took plus a penalty of one means he's two strokes down. But only one of them is actually a penalty.

#25 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 17 June 2018 - 08:49 PM

Wouldn’t taking an unplayable from a very player able lie and situation be worse and create a bigger uproar then what he did...

Rule 28 is very clear.  The player can deem his ball unplayable anywhere on the course. He doesn't have to give a reason and no-one can challenge him on it.

 

It might be more self-explanatory if the rule said that the player may decide for himself if for any reason best known to himself he does not want to play from whatever situation his ball happens to be in, but that's rather too many words!

 

In any case, had Mickelson decided to play again from the place where he made his putt, he  he would have been acting under Rule 27-1a  (stroke and distance) which similarly does not require the player to give any explanation of or justification for doing so.



#26 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 558 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 17 June 2018 - 08:51 PM

Quite correct, Colin. The stroke he took plus a penalty of one means he's two strokes down. But only one of them is actually a penalty.

 

To be very fussy (or possibly anal), the stroke he took has nothing to do with it.  It's done and counted whatever he does next. He proceeds from it by going back the distance and adding a penalty stroke.  


Edited by ColinCL, 17 June 2018 - 08:52 PM.


#27 golfguy33

golfguy33

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2366 posts

Posted 17 June 2018 - 09:44 PM

He wasn't playing stableford or par.
If he picks it up, he might as well walk off the course.

Bump was right, he could have just replayed the putt for a two stroke penalty.

 

 

Quite correct, Colin. The stroke he took plus a penalty of one means he's two strokes down. But only one of them is actually a penalty.

 

Great try OB but you can't hide your rules ignorance with the first post. Trying to do the backflip and coverup is just too OBvious in this case !

Made me laugh, just sayin and pointing it out :)

Jon...



#28 Littleman

Littleman

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1340 posts
  • LocationCarving out the turns on the white stuff somewhere....

Posted 18 June 2018 - 12:01 AM

Rule 28 is very clear.  The player can deem his ball unplayable anywhere on the course. He doesn't have to give a reason and no-one can challenge him on it.
 
It might be more self-explanatory if the rule said that the player may decide for himself if for any reason best known to himself he does not want to play from whatever situation his ball happens to be in, but that's rather too many words!
 
In any case, had Mickelson decided to play again from the place where he made his putt, he  he would have been acting under Rule 27-1a  (stroke and distance) which similarly does not require the player to give any explanation of or justification for doing so.


And there is no requirement for him to justify what he did either

The bullshit that all of this about the opinions about ethics of the situation....

Both are a penalty under the rules, neither more is more ethical or less ethical that the other in my view

By opinions are like arseholes....everyone has one

2015 BHIC Runner Up

2015 ISG match play champion

2015 B Grade Winner OOM#4 Heritage St Johns

2015 social golf pennant team winners (including undefeated in all matches)

2015 Overall Winner OOM #2 Settlers Run

http://www.golflink....10903029&skip=1


#29 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5550 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 18 June 2018 - 04:43 AM

And there is no requirement for him to justify what he did either

The bullshit that all of this about the opinions about ethics of the situation....

Both are a penalty under the rules, neither more is more ethical or less ethical that the other in my view

By opinions are like arseholes....everyone has one

You cant see the difference between using a rule to your advantage (unplayable) and deliberately breaking a rule like phil did?

Edited by Itchy4Scratch, 18 June 2018 - 04:45 AM.

  • Goldy likes this

#30 hack2489

hack2489

    WTF, I can change this now?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1455 posts
  • LocationNorthern NSW

Posted 18 June 2018 - 06:07 AM

... deliberately breaking a rule like phil did?


What rule did he deliberately break?

Yes, it was a deliberate act.

Yes, there is a rule to cover the situation.

But, Phil did not break a rule. He was penalized on the basis of a rule. That's very different to breaking a rule.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users