Jump to content


 

Photo

2018 Us Open: Shinnecock


  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#61 chevychase

chevychase

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1115 posts

Posted 17 June 2018 - 05:31 PM

I honestly think if it was a situation where he could go on to win the event it would be a very different outcome.


That’s precisely why the loophole needs to be closed and the rule changed.
  • Goldy likes this
Driver: TaylorMade 2018 M3 10.5* Graphite Design Tour AD-DI6s
3 Wood: TaylorMade 2018 M4 15* Graphite Design Tour AD-DI7s
Irons: 2-PW: Mizuno MPH-4 +.5”, 2* upright, 2 iron: Graphite Design Tour AD-DI8s; 4-PW Nippon NS Pro 950GH Stiff.
Wedges: 52* Mizuno MP-R12; 56* & 60* Indi Stingraywith KBS Tour 120 Stiff shafts.
Putter: Scotty Cameron Newport M2 with Super Stroke Fatso grip
Ball: Titleist Pro V1X

#62 Lukos87

Lukos87

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1544 posts

Posted 17 June 2018 - 05:34 PM

That’s precisely why the loophole needs to be closed and the rule changed.


Agreed.

#63 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41983 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 17 June 2018 - 06:09 PM

It’s a strange rule if it’s meant to allow you to hit a moving ball on purpose

What is it actually meant to be about
  • hack2489 likes this

Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

2018 Nationals 4BBB Champion with Commish
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 2 round at Kooralbyn

​Winner: 2018 Nationals day 3 round at Sanctuary Cove Pines
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#64 chevychase

chevychase

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1115 posts

Posted 18 June 2018 - 05:15 AM

ABPR
  • Goldy likes this
Driver: TaylorMade 2018 M3 10.5* Graphite Design Tour AD-DI6s
3 Wood: TaylorMade 2018 M4 15* Graphite Design Tour AD-DI7s
Irons: 2-PW: Mizuno MPH-4 +.5”, 2* upright, 2 iron: Graphite Design Tour AD-DI8s; 4-PW Nippon NS Pro 950GH Stiff.
Wedges: 52* Mizuno MP-R12; 56* & 60* Indi Stingraywith KBS Tour 120 Stiff shafts.
Putter: Scotty Cameron Newport M2 with Super Stroke Fatso grip
Ball: Titleist Pro V1X

#65 Rodent

Rodent

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 461 posts

Posted 18 June 2018 - 07:09 AM

Blatant intent when making a stroke at a moving ball should always be DQ.



#66 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38970 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 18 June 2018 - 08:40 AM

ABPR


I nearly went back to the thread....
  • chevychase likes this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid, Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Winner B grade OOM Curlewis 2018

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel
C Grade LD Growling Frog 11/8/18, blah blah blah,,,,this is getting to be almost monotonous..... 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 1/9/18,...maybe these are now so commonplace I should just stop listing them

Never contended for the trophy named for me

 

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.


#67 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Moss Effect

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 14374 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 18 June 2018 - 02:59 PM

BK winz back to back. So is he just accurate or is the impossible his forte?

18.4 by Dec. 2018

 

2018 Gardiners Run Senior Matchplay Champion

2018 Keysborough GC Gala Team Event Winner

2017 VIC ISG OOM "The Goldy" Winner

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Frank" founding member

 

 


#68 Theguru

Theguru

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 18 June 2018 - 04:44 PM

The 72 in the third round was the key for him Mick.
Despite being a power hitter his putting won it for him on Sunday
  • chevychase likes this

#69 madness

madness

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts

Posted 18 June 2018 - 05:32 PM

Phil would have saved himself a shot if he had taken an unplayable and dropped it back where he had the original putt from.


  • pom likes this

#70 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1597 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 25 June 2018 - 01:09 PM

As stated by the former head of USGA.
It's basically a loophole in the rules that does not really benefit a player- if he was +2 in the event he wouldn't have gone near the ball because of fear of DQ.

The way he put it is.
If the same situation happens on the 12th at Augusta and the balls going into the creek, player races down and swats it back to the hole. He gets it to a foot and makes that putt.
Alternative is. Ball in the water, drop back over the creek and who knows what happens from there, he could fat on into the drink again like speith did.
He has willingly interfered with his ball because he didn't want to play it from where it was going to lie.

 

If he was +2 it would be more about the penalty strokes rather than fear of DQ for why he wouldn't do it.

 

Also, thats not the only alternative to the ball going in the water. You always have the option to drop the ball where you played the shot from and try again, which is always going to be a better option than playing a moving ball.


| GolfLink 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users