Jump to content


 

Photo

Free Drop From Gur


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#1 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Moss Effect

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13627 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 20 May 2018 - 06:53 PM

If you take a drop from GUR what is the correct procedure?

After you drop on the side of a hill do you need to place the ball if it rolls down more than a club length but not closer to the hole?

18.4 by Dec. 2018

 

2018 Keysborough GC Gala Team Event Winner

2017 VIC ISG OOM Overall Winner

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Frank" founding member

 

 


#2 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13073 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 20 May 2018 - 06:57 PM

A good old Chinese whispers interpretation. I love it
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#3 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1868 posts

Posted 20 May 2018 - 07:09 PM

If you take a drop from GUR what is the correct procedure?
After you drop on the side of a hill do you need to place the ball if it rolls down more than a club length but not closer to the hole?

Mick the ball is in play as long as it rolls no more than 2 clublengths, not nearer the holefrom where it strikes the ground.

#4 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Moss Effect

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13627 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 20 May 2018 - 10:00 PM

Cool thanks

18.4 by Dec. 2018

 

2018 Keysborough GC Gala Team Event Winner

2017 VIC ISG OOM Overall Winner

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Frank" founding member

 

 


#5 okitoki

okitoki

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 21 May 2018 - 12:48 PM

Follow up questions regarding GUR (as I have asked someone during my game on Saturday)

 

1. if ball is outside of GUR, but I will need to step in GUR to play the shot. do i need to take a drop or play as is.

2. there is a Drop zone, which I assume all GUR balls to be dropped within the allocated area.  However, a more experienced golfer advise me I can choose to drop anywhere else as long as it is no closer to the hole.  is this right?

3.  if ball roll out of drop zone box, must drop again... till ball stay within boxed area.?

 

 

thanks



#6 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23987 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 May 2018 - 01:35 PM

1. Only if it is 'compulsory GUR'
2. Correct, unless it's a compulsory drop zone
3. The ball must first strike a part of the course within the drop zone

If 'compulsory' is not specified in the relevant local rule, then it's not.
  • okitoki likes this

#7 okitoki

okitoki

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 21 May 2018 - 02:02 PM

guess I need to brush up my local rules then... 



#8 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23987 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 May 2018 - 02:47 PM

guess I need to brush up my local rules then... 

 A player with your handicap should already know most rules and particularly the local rules at your club


  • Monty85 likes this

#9 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5565 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 21 May 2018 - 03:17 PM

 A player with your handicap should already know most rules and particularly the local rules at your club

This statement is stupid, half the tour pros don't know most rules judging by the telecasts. A person's handicap and their knowledge of the rules are not remotely related. 


  • BarnEsy05, RobNewy, Goldy and 2 others like this

#10 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1868 posts

Posted 21 May 2018 - 03:20 PM

guess I need to brush up my local rules then...

The Specimen Local Rule on Drop Zones has something in it that few people know.

This is once dropped correctly in the drop zone it may roll up to 2 Club lengths in ANY direction and be in play.

What!? I hear people say. Yep that is correct. I surmise the reason is that Drop Zones are often some kind of compromise in getting a practical place to take relief.
It can be some distance away from where relief might normally be taken.

So if the ball rolls forward out of the DZ don’t rush to pick it up and redrop.
It could be the toll is less than 2 Club lengths. If you lift the ball that is one penalty stroke and the ball must be replaced.

You might win some bets on this one. Read the Rule for yourself in the Appendix of the Rule Book. Appendix 1 I think.

#11 okitoki

okitoki

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 21 May 2018 - 07:14 PM

A player with your handicap should already know most rules and particularly the local rules at your club


Meh.... I just started playing mid last year and know the basic rules as required.
However all the local rules only comes out for me on rare occasion.
With me starting to play in other clubs comp and pennants means I will need to brush up on other local rules too.

#12 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23987 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 May 2018 - 07:34 PM

This statement is stupid, half the tour pros don't know most rules judging by the telecasts. A person's handicap and their knowledge of the rules are not remotely related.


With few exceptions, it takes quite some time and experience to get one's handicap down to low teens. That would be a lot of competitions played under the rules. And a lot of curly circumstances from which the player learns of yet another rule.

#13 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38496 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 21 May 2018 - 08:05 PM

With few exceptions, it takes quite some time and experience to get one's handicap down to low teens. That would be a lot of competitions played under the rules. And a lot of curly circumstances from which the player learns of yet another rule.

 

Some people play forever and can't get below 20.

 

Wouldn't it stand to reason that they would also be in the same boat?

 

Handicap bears no relationship to understanding the rules.


  • BarnEsy05 and koiom K Frenzy like this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#14 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13073 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 21 May 2018 - 09:25 PM

and Mick, it's two drops where it rolls more than 2 club lengths or closer to the hole before you place it on the spot that it first struck the course on your second drop. 

 

And it stands to reason that I has good handicap understanding of the rules because I've played about 30 times in the last 4 years or so. 


  • languid, iRON MiCK, Goldy and 1 other like this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#15 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Moss Effect

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13627 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 21 May 2018 - 10:10 PM

I has good feeling you are correct :D

18.4 by Dec. 2018

 

2018 Keysborough GC Gala Team Event Winner

2017 VIC ISG OOM Overall Winner

2017 VIC OOM #5 Gardiners Run Overall Winner

http://www.golf.org....icap/3010407931

"Team Frank" founding member

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users