There lies the problem.
You could have simply said nothing and ignored the breach.
But by informing him that you had seen the breach and were not going to claim a penalty, together with his not applying the penalty himself, amounted to an agreement to waive the rule. The penalty for which is DQ for you both.
OK I see where you are coming from but does informing the player that you are not going to penalize him really mean that you have agreed to waive a rule of golf.
The reason I ask
Playing up the 18th hole 1up opponent puts tee shot into water hazard.He then takes a drop but drops in the wrong place And plays a stroke I am in the centre of the fairway & decide not to penalize the player for the breach. A few moments later he realized that he had done the wrong thing and offered to go back & play another stroke. Realistically as I am on the green for 2 & he is short for 3 I am unlikely to lose the hole & if he goes back to play another stroke he would almost certainly lose the hole & the match.As I told him not to worry about it and we played out the hole I take it that that would mean that we were both DQd for agreeing to waive a rule of golf.
BTW I won the match 2 up
Edited by pom, 16 May 2018 - 02:22 PM.