I was playing a match when my opponent started brushing sand away from behind his ball (he was a metre or 2 short of a bunker without much of a lip and there was a lot of sand on the ground). I informed him that was against the rules and that the penalty was loss of hole.
On this day, the rules were preferred lie through the green and the situation didn't sit well with me as I didn't think he was getting a real advantage considering he could easily have found a good lie when placing his ball. So I told him that I was not going to call the penalty on him for this reason. I went on to win the match on the 20th hole.
I was eliminated the following week in the semi-final. Had I gone on to win the final, is it true that for waiving the rule for moving sand from behind his ball, that I myself could have been subject to disqualification?