Jump to content


 

Photo

Match Play 4Bbb Sami Final One Player Pulls Out ?


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 PuttOvr

PuttOvr

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 354 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 02:03 PM

My Partner and I have made it to the sami finals 
I was told the team playing us tomorrow has one player pulled out.

So The talk is he can play against us by himself 
And if he wins will take me { lowest H/C } with him into the final 

He is saying he can play and because its 4BBB I am on both teams, he plays with me also and if he wins he takes me into the  final,  

Others say he's out we go straight into the final 

my partner retcons its not fair i play with him 

The sami is tomorrow wonder how the club will approach this one 
 



#2 Never Trendy

Never Trendy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 23 March 2018 - 02:11 PM

I think it should be you and your partner vs him.

He has to beat you solo
  • PuttOvr likes this

#3 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38386 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 23 March 2018 - 02:12 PM

Saves beating himself solo.
  • koiom K Frenzy likes this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#4 pt73

pt73

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 945 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 02:30 PM

I think it should be you and your partner vs him.

He has to beat you solo

I agree, if it's match play then it's two V one.

 

If he loses, he's goneski.


  • languid likes this

#5 PuttOvr

PuttOvr

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 354 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 03:04 PM

I agree, if it's match play then it's two V one.

 

If he loses, he's goneski.

This is how I see it also he plays by himself 

But he has a point, his point being:
If you put your name down to play 4BBB and you turn up to play and have no partner. The rules are you use the lowest H/C in the threesome and take his score as your partner also 



#6 Birdie Blitz

Birdie Blitz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 03:40 PM

A bit different from a normal Saturday club event where they are trying to ensure everyone gets to play to a semi final of a knockout comp though.

 

Would have thought that no substitution after the first round would be the condition - therefore we plays with his partner or by himself. Should be set out in the terms of play for the competition, check your syllabus we used to put our KO competition terms in the front.


  • PuttOvr likes this

#7 Lukos87

Lukos87

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1509 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 03:51 PM

Pretty sure this happened at Northern in a 4bbb event a few months back.
Player who didn't have a partner had to play solo vs 2 players.
Ended up shooting 74 off 8 and won 😂
  • Birdie Blitz and PuttOvr like this

#8 ink

ink

    Pawsome

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35055 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 03:58 PM

Saves beating himself solo.

Hans Solo

#9 MaxxOn

MaxxOn

    On Top

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20126 posts
  • LocationThe Burrow

Posted 23 March 2018 - 04:07 PM

I agree with your mate Retcons. It should be you and Retcons verse the other bloke.

Edited by FNQ, 23 March 2018 - 04:13 PM.


#10 MaxxOn

MaxxOn

    On Top

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20126 posts
  • LocationThe Burrow

Posted 23 March 2018 - 04:10 PM

If you're the lowest marker out of you and Retcons then you are the swinger in a normal comp round. Surely that rule doesn't apply in this type of competition you and Retcons are playing in.

Edited by FNQ, 23 March 2018 - 04:13 PM.


#11 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23924 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 23 March 2018 - 04:12 PM

Check conditions of competition.
Otherwise it's you two against him.

#12 Toph

Toph

    No golf allowed

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5194 posts
  • LocationProbably at work

Posted 23 March 2018 - 04:58 PM

I don’t understand the op. He believes he can play with and against you at the same time and then completely change his “team” and have you in the finals if he wins?
That sounds mega screwey to me.
http://www.golf.org....icap/4070201550
What can possibly go wrong?

#13 Madam

Madam

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 14037 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 05:39 PM

I don’t understand the op. He believes he can play with and against you at the same time and then completely change his “team” and have you in the finals if he wins?
That sounds mega screwey to me.

Im confused as its Match Play vs normal Stableford etc


Join iseekgolf.com on Facebook

Follow iseekgolf.com on Twitter

For golf industry news.

Handicap


#14 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23924 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 23 March 2018 - 05:46 PM

Im confused as its Match Play vs normal Stableford etc


It might be some Black Comedy

#15 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11900 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 23 March 2018 - 06:11 PM

This sounds very odd. Never heard anything like this for matchplay. If 1 player pulls out then the other player has to go it solo. Sounds good for low marker though as he would go through whoever wins.

 Btw. if he wins he goes through to the final with his partner. that is the guy that pulled out.

 Check with your match committee, not anyone else.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users