Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball Coming To Rest Against My Club


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#16 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5613 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:47 AM

1.

 

close thread. 

 

ffs

Why close a thread when you have so much more opportunity be pedantic about nothing and come to the same conclusion? 


  • Goldy, koiom K Frenzy and Snappy McSnapperton like this

#17 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:54 AM

So what you're saying is, in this scenario, if he caused the ball to move it was a 1 shot penalty and if he didn't cause the ball to move but stopped a moving ball, he incurs a 1 shot penalty.
In either case, he gets a 1 shot penalty.

Most golfers don't care which rule is applied, they care how many shots it costs them. ie, they care about the outcome not the rule. 



 

If you don't care about which rule is applied, how can you know that you are arriving at the correct outcome, bearing in mind that the majority of golfers have to decide the outcome for  themselves, not having the luxury of a referee to do it for them?


Edited by ColinCL, 06 March 2018 - 08:56 AM.


#18 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5613 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:56 AM

If you don't care about which rule is applied, how can you know that you are arriving at the correct outcome?


If the two possible options have the same penalty then you are guaranteed to get the right outcome
  • hack2489 likes this

#19 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1835 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 10:31 AM

So what you're saying is, in this scenario, if he caused the ball to move it was a 1 shot penalty and if he didn't cause the ball to move but stopped a moving ball, he incurs a 1 shot penalty.
In either case, he gets a 1 shot penalty.

Most golfers don't care which rule is applied, they care how many shots it costs them. ie, they care about the outcome not the rule. 



 

yeah and that's what I said too, but apparently I displayed insufficient verbosity in the contribution of the weight of evidence of my deliberations in the selection of the number of words used to communicate the outcome. 


  • GhettoGolfer, OldBogey, Goldy and 4 others like this

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#20 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5613 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 10:33 AM

yeah and that's what I said too, but apparently I displayed insufficient verbosity in the contribution of the weight of evidence of my deliberations in the selection of the number of words used to communicate the outcome. 

It's like being in maths class at primary school Snappy. It doesn't matter that you got the right answer, you have to show your working otherwise the rules gurus will put you in the naughty corner and you'll never amount to anything in life. 


  • RobNewy, Goldy, koiom K Frenzy and 1 other like this

#21 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1835 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 10:36 AM

It's like being in maths class at primary school Snappy. It doesn't matter that you got the right answer, you have to show your working otherwise the rules gurus will put you in the naughty corner and you'll never amount to anything in life. 

I guess its not acceptable to read just the link kindly provided


  • Itchy4Scratch and hack2489 like this

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#22 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 41862 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 06 March 2018 - 01:14 PM

If he’d caused it to move and then stopped it with his club is that 2 shots pebalties?
Handicap
Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016
Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands, 15/4/18 16th Carbrook
Goal: A round at par or better!
Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion
Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island
Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands
Winner: 2017 Nationals day 5 round at Bonnie Doon
South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer
http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer

#23 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5613 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 01:23 PM

If he’d caused it to move and then stopped it with his club is that 2 shots pebalties?

 

Nope, same penalty 

 

If the player caused the ball to move, he incurs a penalty stroke under Rule 18-2 and the ball must be replaced. A further penalty under Rule 19-2 (Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped by Player) does not apply in these circumstances, as the act of his clubhead stopping the ball was related to the initial act of causing his ball to move - see Principle 4 of Decision 1-4/12.


  • Weetbix likes this

#24 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18119 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 06 March 2018 - 01:53 PM

I'm just pleased that I didn't cheat. Signing for 104 when it should've been 105 would be devastating.
  • GhettoGolfer, koiom K Frenzy, Snappy McSnapperton and 2 others like this
Shanklink


OOM Tour
I am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide Tour
Winner 2017 Keysborough Invitational

Choppers Tour
Winner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at Sunshine
Winner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#25 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11905 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 06 March 2018 - 03:06 PM

There are so many golfers that use the excuse that the rules are too difficult to understand to avoid actually reading them, When a Rules official is asked for a decision he should always explain every option & the resulting penalty to be absolutely sure that the player,and anyone else that is listening, do not misunderstand the rules used for the decision.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#26 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5613 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 03:10 PM

I think your confusing too difficult with not caring.

"It's not how, it's how many" applies to the rules as well as actually playing the game. I have a fairly decent understanding of the rules for a player, better than the vast majority of people I play with, yet I still don't really care what rule applies where. All I care about is having enough knowledge to word the question properly so google gives me the right answer quickly if I'm unsure. 



#27 GPJ_Longdriver

GPJ_Longdriver

    Long Iron Appreciation Society President.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19661 posts
  • LocationWithin reaching distance of a golf club.

Posted 06 March 2018 - 06:28 PM

There are so many golfers that use the excuse that the rules are too difficult to understand to avoid actually reading them,

 

There are I believe, way too many rules, interpretations, and decisions, for the average person to be bothered with.

 

Most golfing situations are resolved, I believe, not by consultation with a rule book, but by concensus within the playing group, as and when an issue occurs out on the course.

 

There should only be two rules I reckon ........ .

 

1, Don't gain an unfair advantage

2. Play it where it lies.

 

Break either and its a 2 shot penalty.


http://www.golf.org....icap/3160102708

Le Hole in 1 (#1) ..... Beaconhills 30/06/2013 6th Hole - Mizuno MP 68 7 iron / TM Lethal ball.
Le Hole in 1 (#2) ...... Beaconhills 09/08/2014 6th Hole - Mizuno MP 68 7 iron / TM Lethal ball.
Le Hole in 1 (#3) ...... Beaconhills 22/02/2015 6th Hole - Mizuno MP 68 7 iron / Titleist NXT Tour ball.

 

WINS
2012 Rotary Charity Day Dream Team
2013 Cardinia Beaconhills Invitational Classic
2014 Cardinia Beaconhills Invitational Classic
2014 W.A. Invitational Classic (Joondalup)

2015 Cardinia Beaconhills - Captain's Trophy Winner
2016 W.A. Invitational Classic (Albany)
2017 W.A. Invitational Classic (The Cut)
2017 Baconwide Tour 4BBB Flinders -with Chip In King

2018 Coober Pedy Opal Fields Open

2018 Alice Springs Invitational
Stink / GPJ Trophy - Lowest Score Off The Stick (OOM's) - Sandhurst, Settlers Run, Growling Frog.


President of ISeekGolf - Long Iron Appreciation Society.

Lead proponent for the abolition of Hybrids, G'brids and Rescues
"Caffeine n Darts" - Proud sponsors of GPJ Golfing 2018.


#28 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24173 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 06 March 2018 - 06:35 PM

Unless you're writing up a decision, the relevant rule number is entirely irrelevant.
Only the applicable penalty has a consequence for the player.

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.


#29 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1892 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:34 PM

There are so many golfers that use the excuse that the rules are too difficult to understand to avoid actually reading them, When a Rules official is asked for a decision he should always explain every option & the resulting penalty to be absolutely sure that the player,and anyone else that is listening, do not misunderstand the rules used for the decision.

Tell ‘em if they don’t understand the Rule “you are going to die” .
, “I will speak at your funeral.”
“OB will deliver the eulogy. “
  • pom likes this

#30 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11905 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 07 March 2018 - 03:58 PM

There are I believe, way too many rules, interpretations, and decisions, for the average person to be bothered with.

 

Most golfing situations are resolved, I believe, not by consultation with a rule book, but by concensus within the playing group, as and when an issue occurs out on the course.

 

There should only be two rules I reckon ........ .

 

1, Don't gain an unfair advantage

2. Play it where it lies.

 

Break either and its a 2 shot penalty.

I have had instances where all 4 players in a group got a ruling wrong. Guess they did not check the rule book.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users