Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball Coming To Rest Against My Club


  • Please log in to reply
108 replies to this topic

#1 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17345 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 04 March 2018 - 03:52 PM

In the rough yesterday I accidentally made contact with the ball whilst addressing it. With my club stationary the ball wobbled off some grass and came back to its original position and resting against my clubface.

Is that deemed to be 2 shots or 1 shot ?
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#2 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23539 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 04 March 2018 - 04:53 PM

I'm unsure from your description of the circumstances whether the ball moved, as per the definition.

If so, one stroke.

#3 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17345 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 04 March 2018 - 05:34 PM

The ball moved maybe 5cm and returned to the same spot.
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#4 Fatprick

Fatprick

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19371 posts
  • Location.

Posted 04 March 2018 - 05:40 PM

The ball moved maybe 5cm and returned to the same spot.


I thought that was pretty clear in your OP.

Edited by Cats are Farked, 04 March 2018 - 05:40 PM.


#5 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17345 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 04 March 2018 - 05:44 PM

I thought that was pretty clear in your OP.


True.
  • Fatprick likes this
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#6 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 04 March 2018 - 06:51 PM

See Decision 18-2/6

 

http://www.usga.org/...sion-18,d18-2-6


  • Fatprick likes this

#7 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17345 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 04 March 2018 - 07:47 PM

See Decision 18-2/6
 
http://www.usga.org/...sion-18,d18-2-6

Thank you. Glad to know I made the right call.
  • Fatprick likes this
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#8 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1707 posts

Posted 05 March 2018 - 04:22 PM

Thank you. Glad to know I made the right call.

I loves the rules so much.  So, that ruling says if you caused it to move - 1 shot, and if you didn't - also 1 shot. 

 

 

It also contains a gem of a sentence - exhibit A in using 10 words to describe something when only 3 are needed. 

 

"A determination must be made as to whether the weight of the evidence indicates it is more likely than not that the player's actions caused the ball to move"


  • OldBogey and Fatprick like this

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#9 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 06 March 2018 - 04:05 AM

I loves the rules so much.  So, that ruling says if you caused it to move - 1 shot, and if you didn't - also 1 shot. 

 

 

 

You've misunderstood.  If your ball moves but you did not cause it to,  you are not penalised.   Had the OP not caused his ball to move, he would, however, have been penalised for accidentally stopping a moving  ball with a piece of his equipment. [Rule 19-2]


Edited by ColinCL, 06 March 2018 - 04:06 AM.


#10 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1707 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 05:18 AM

You've misunderstood. If your ball moves but you did not cause it to, you are not penalised. Had the OP not caused his ball to move, he would, however, have been penalised for accidentally stopping a moving ball with a piece of his equipment. [Rule 19-2]


No, i understood. Try again.

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#11 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 06 March 2018 - 05:48 AM

Try what again?  This?

 So, that ruling says if you caused it to move - 1 shot, and if you didn't - also 1 shot. 

 

It's clearly a misunderstanding (i.e. wrong)  to say that if you didn't cause your ball to move it will cost you a penalty stroke.


Edited by ColinCL, 06 March 2018 - 05:49 AM.


#12 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1707 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:20 AM

Did he add 1 shot to his score? Yes.  You are confusing a rule with an outcome. 


If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#13 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:39 AM

Did he add 1 shot to his score? Yes.  You are confusing a rule with an outcome. 

I'm not in the least bit confused about what the outcomes are of the different rules which apply to the  situations where  1) the movement of a ball is not caused by the player  but he accidentally stops or deflects the moving ball and 2) the player causes the ball to move and it comes to rest against his club.  In 1)  he incurs a 1 stroke penalty for stopping the moving ball whereas in 2)  he incurs a 1 stroke penalty for causing his ball to move but no further penalty for accidentally stopping it with his club.

 

It matters to be precise about what rule is being applied.


Edited by ColinCL, 06 March 2018 - 08:40 AM.


#14 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5328 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:45 AM

So what you're saying is, in this scenario, if he caused the ball to move it was a 1 shot penalty and if he didn't cause the ball to move but stopped a moving ball, he incurs a 1 shot penalty.
In either case, he gets a 1 shot penalty.

Most golfers don't care which rule is applied, they care how many shots it costs them. ie, they care about the outcome not the rule. 



 


  • Goldy and Snappy McSnapperton like this

#15 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1707 posts

Posted 06 March 2018 - 08:45 AM

Is that deemed to be 2 shots or 1 shot ?

1.

 

close thread. 

 

ffs


  • GhettoGolfer and Itchy4Scratch like this

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users