Jump to content


 

Photo

Hio?


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#16 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1819 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:40 PM

"Equity" decisions in the Rules of golf mean treating similar situations the same.  Whether or not the player is "punished" isn't a consideration.


True. That is what it is. Precedent applies. Decisions made before guide a new one. “Hardline” has been in vogue for decades.

#17 VLAD

VLAD

    Non-Playing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1003 posts
  • LocationPart time Hacker. Hunting MOOSE

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:45 PM

Well I'm farked, I rarely play comps and I don't have any mates.

Could be time to change your view on getting a cat?
  • Fatprick likes this

Country golfer on a City course.
Hacker in more ways than one.
Penetration specialist, can cause some people to be nervous.

 

I'm back for another few years
 
I can do no wrong.
 
 


#18 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38013 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:46 PM

If you have a HIO with a hybrid does it count?


Only when the length of the hole exceeds 100m
Same for driver.
  • Fatprick likes this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#19 VLAD

VLAD

    Non-Playing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1003 posts
  • LocationPart time Hacker. Hunting MOOSE

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:47 PM

Only when the length of the hole exceeds 76m
Same for driver.


  • Weetbix likes this

Country golfer on a City course.
Hacker in more ways than one.
Penetration specialist, can cause some people to be nervous.

 

I'm back for another few years
 
I can do no wrong.
 
 


#20 Fatprick

Fatprick

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19729 posts
  • Location.

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:48 PM

Could be time to change your view on getting a cat?


What about a cart?

#21 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38013 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 22 February 2018 - 01:48 PM

Carts are faked.
  • Fatprick and VLAD like this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#22 VLAD

VLAD

    Non-Playing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1003 posts
  • LocationPart time Hacker. Hunting MOOSE

Posted 22 February 2018 - 02:05 PM

Carts are faked.

Love it when your float your R's

Country golfer on a City course.
Hacker in more ways than one.
Penetration specialist, can cause some people to be nervous.

 

I'm back for another few years
 
I can do no wrong.
 
 


#23 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1819 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 02:30 PM

Something to ponder... Rule 17-4 Ball Resting Against Flagstick. Most of us would have had this happen or seen it and know if the Ball falls into the hole when Flagstick removed the Ball is holed. Sounds fair. Similar to situation discussed in this thread, the Ball is touching the green obviously prevented from falling into the hole by The Flagstick. The Flagstick is a “movable straight indicator” rather like a movable obstruction but with special status.
Why should it be so special that a stick or a movable obstruction clearly preventing a ball falling in the hole be treated differently.?
The answer seems to be “it just is, don’t bug me” . A Rules expert might give a well thought through reason for the specialness but it wouldn’t pass “The Pub Test”.
This sort of problem which seems quite unfair to players is a reason The Rules and the people making them seem out of date and inflexible.
  • VLAD likes this

#24 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1819 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 02:33 PM

Only when the length of the hole exceeds 76mSame for driver.


Do you mean circumference?
  • VLAD likes this

#25 VLAD

VLAD

    Non-Playing Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1003 posts
  • LocationPart time Hacker. Hunting MOOSE

Posted 22 February 2018 - 02:39 PM

Do you mean circumference?

Sorry no. It's a old reference to a glorious short driving member
  • Goldy likes this

Country golfer on a City course.
Hacker in more ways than one.
Penetration specialist, can cause some people to be nervous.

 

I'm back for another few years
 
I can do no wrong.
 
 


#26 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23707 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 February 2018 - 04:02 PM

Well I'm farked, I rarely play comps and I don't have any mates.


Why are we not surprised?
  • Bluethunda likes this

#27 Fatprick

Fatprick

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19729 posts
  • Location.

Posted 22 February 2018 - 04:37 PM

Burn.

#28 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11884 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 22 February 2018 - 06:58 PM

Something to ponder... Rule 17-4 Ball Resting Against Flagstick. Most of us would have had this happen or seen it and know if the Ball falls into the hole when Flagstick removed the Ball is holed. Sounds fair. Similar to situation discussed in this thread, the Ball is touching the green obviously prevented from falling into the hole by The Flagstick. The Flagstick is a “movable straight indicator” rather like a movable obstruction but with special status.
Why should it be so special that a stick or a movable obstruction clearly preventing a ball falling in the hole be treated differently.?
The answer seems to be “it just is, don’t bug me” . A Rules expert might give a well thought through reason for the specialness but it wouldn’t pass “The Pub Test”.
This sort of problem which seems quite unfair to players is a reason The Rules and the people making them seem out of date and inflexible.

A loose impediment can stop the ball anywhere on the green. What if it were a larger twig & stopped the ball right on the edge. The ball was going in until it hit the twig.. If we start ruling on maybes and should have beens we are just  making more trouble for ourselves. I made the same ruling as Rogolf on another Facebook page almost word for word. To me that is what the rules say.If it makes ROs unpopular then so be it.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#29 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3053 posts

Posted 23 February 2018 - 05:18 AM

Something to ponder... Rule 17-4 Ball Resting Against Flagstick. Most of us would have had this happen or seen it and know if the Ball falls into the hole when Flagstick removed the Ball is holed. Sounds fair. Similar to situation discussed in this thread, the Ball is touching the green obviously prevented from falling into the hole by The Flagstick. The Flagstick is a “movable straight indicator” rather like a movable obstruction but with special status.
Why should it be so special that a stick or a movable obstruction clearly preventing a ball falling in the hole be treated differently.?
The answer seems to be “it just is, don’t bug me” . A Rules expert might give a well thought through reason for the specialness but it wouldn’t pass “The Pub Test”.
This sort of problem which seems quite unfair to players is a reason The Rules and the people making them seem out of date and inflexible.

We don't yet know what the R&A's ruling is but I am awaiting it

 

But I must say this is a good analogy.

 

For a ball to fall in if an object is preventing it, the centre of gravity must be beyond the edge of the hole. The object must be nearer than the diameter of the ball.

 

Like a leaning flagstick. Or, as in the original posting of this picture, the twig. I have checked and the poster said it would fall in if the twig was removed. That means the bottom of the ball was over the hole. 

So the ruling for this twig should be the same as the leaning flagstick 17-4 if the object is a MO. In equity of it is a LI.


  • languid likes this

#30 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1819 posts

Posted 23 February 2018 - 07:55 AM

We don't yet know what the R&A's ruling is but I am awaiting it
 
But I must say this is a good analogy.
 
For a ball to fall in if an object is preventing it, the centre of gravity must be beyond the edge of the hole. The object must be nearer than the diameter of the ball.
 
Like a leaning flagstick. Or, as in the original posting of this picture, the twig. I have checked and the poster said it would fall in if the twig was removed. That means the bottom of the ball was over the hole. 
So the ruling for this twig should be the same as the leaning flagstick 17-4 if the object is a MO. In equity of it is a LI.


A revision of the Rules might read along these lines
“When a ball lies on a loose impediment or movable obstruction preventing the Ball from falling to the bottom of the hole, the LI or MI may be removed. If the ball moves so that all of it is within the circumference and below the level of the lip of the hole, the ball is holed”. The wording would need to clarify the Ball at rest on the LI or MO would need to be completely or substantially within the circumference of the hole.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users