Jump to content


 

Photo

Tidal Water Hazard


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Mr_C

Mr_C

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6571 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 06 January 2018 - 11:27 AM

Was playing Reddy Bay yesterday and there were king tides about. On one of the fairways, the right hand side is bordered by Morten Bay. There are red stakes in play to mark it as a hazard. What happens when the tide is so high, the waterline is above the stakes and the ball is in the water but not beyond the hazard stakes? Is that water casual? Or is it still hazard?
http://www.golf.org....icap/4071372364

Game golf username : MattFC

#2 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 450 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 11:44 AM

The water is casual water if it is outside the marked margins of the water hazard/lateral water hazard.


  • RobNewy and Joe79 like this

#3 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17603 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 06 January 2018 - 11:54 AM

The water is casual water if it is outside the marked margins of the water hazard/lateral water hazard.

What happens if the red sticks float to the edge of the water ?

Just asking for my imaginary friend
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#4 Madam

Madam

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 13593 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 02:17 PM

What happens if the red sticks float to the edge of the water ?

Just asking for my imaginary friend

a few reds in this heat Mouldy?
  • Itchy4Scratch likes this

Join iseekgolf.com on Facebook

Follow iseekgolf.com on Twitter

For golf industry news.

Handicap


#5 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 450 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 02:21 PM

What happens if the red sticks float to the edge of the water ?

Just asking for my imaginary friend

If in doubt, play two balls (Rule 3-3) and ask the Committee for a ruling.  Sometimes you need to make an appropriate decision and carry on.  (just imagine that you know how to deal with it!)


Edited by rogolf, 06 January 2018 - 02:22 PM.


#6 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23714 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 06 January 2018 - 02:30 PM

What happens if the red sticks float to the edge of the water ?
Just asking for my imaginary friend


What, no real friends?
  • Madam likes this

#7 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11884 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 06 January 2018 - 02:38 PM

As I recall the edge of the hazard is fairly easy to see although may be outside the red stakes. If stakes were missing ( floating around. ) if the edge of the hazard is obvious you would probably use that.

  Would have thought the match committee being locals would have been aware of the likelyhood of this happening & taken measures to cover it.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#8 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2916 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 06:15 PM

The water is casual water if it is outside the marked margins of the water hazard/lateral water hazard.

Thats what I said, close the thread.


  • Mr_C likes this

#9 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I'm optimal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17603 posts
  • LocationHotel Shanker Lazimpat, Kathmandu 44600 Nepal

Posted 06 January 2018 - 07:00 PM

a few reds in this heat Mouldy?


No. On the AFDs. Causes delirium.
  • Madam likes this
ShanklinkOOM TourI am mid table mediocrity !

National Tour
2017 Day 1 winner at Monash CC

Baconwide TourRunner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at YarrambatNAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews BeachTeam Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship FlindersRunner up 2017 Southern InvitationalWinner 2017 Keysborough InvitationalChoppers TourWinner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at SunshineWinner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport<p>

#10 Can Break 80

Can Break 80

    metronome

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8914 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 08:10 PM

Was playing Reddy Bay yesterday and there were king tides about. On one of the fairways, the right hand side is bordered by Morten Bay. There are red stakes in play to mark it as a hazard. What happens when the tide is so high, the waterline is above the stakes and the ball is in the water but not beyond the hazard stakes? Is that water casual? Or is it still hazard?

 

Just asking for a friend,

 

what if the increased tide creates an island, is a ball hit onto the island considered to be lost or unplayable or part of the casual water.


  • iRON MiCK likes this

2017 OOM winner at Growling Frog.

2016 A grade winner Moonah legends OOM4.

2015 member of team Vision winners of SGC pennant.

2014 National ISG champion

2014 winner Kooindah waters

2014 winner Magenta shores


2014 first ever hole in 1 in an ISG event, 4th Hole Kooindah waters 19th October

2012 winner of BHIC and gaining a 5 year exemption


#11 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3053 posts

Posted 06 January 2018 - 10:48 PM

Well it's not lost because it can be seen and identified.

It's not in casual water because it is on dry land.

It is unplayable if you decide it is but you may play it as it lies if you can get to it.


  • Madam, languid and Sprtan52 like this

#12 Bluethunda

Bluethunda

    ISG AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL 4BBB CHAMPION, WITH HARRO

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17246 posts
  • Location#KW #CHAMPION

Posted 12 January 2018 - 06:23 PM

As I recall the edge of the hazard is fairly easy to see although may be outside the red stakes. If stakes were missing ( floating around. ) if the edge of the hazard is obvious you would probably use that.
  Would have thought the match committee being locals would have been aware of the likelyhood of this happening & taken measures to cover it.




They are volunteers Pom, they don't think.
  • pom likes this
DEBUT: US Masters, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA 2016
DEBUT: ANA Inspirational LPGA Mission Hills, Palm Springs, CA 2016
Reacquainted myself with Karrie Webb, Australia's Greatest Golfer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users