Jump to content


 

Photo

Water Hazard Shenanigans


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1857 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:12 PM

Here's one to keep the trainspotters amused for a while. 

 

In the Saturday stableford, my playing partner managed a comedy of errors.  Off the tee, he found a water hazard.  The water level was down a bit, so he thought he might get in there and try to play it out.  He was slipping around like crazy and grounded his club while trying to get over the ball.  He then proceeded to hit the ball into the lip of the hazard, and it bounced back, hit him, and then went properly into the water. 

 

So, how many penalty shots should that have been? Doesn't matter, he just wiped the hole, but it was a pretty good effort nonetheless. 


If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#2 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5661 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:15 PM

2 for grounding the club, 2 for the ball hitting him I would say. 

Did you ask him if it was worth it?

 



#3 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1857 posts

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:22 PM

2 for grounding the club, 2 for the ball hitting him I would say. 

Did you ask him if it was worth it?

 

Yeah he pointed out that with no shot on the hole, and where he would have had to drop, he was no chance of a point, which guided his decision.  I think he saw it as worth it for the story.  Somehow he still shot the equivalent of 75 off that bat after that effort. 


  • Itchy4Scratch likes this

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#4 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13158 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:23 PM






(No penalty for grounding his club in this action/instance)


But carry on with the shenanigans
  • Joe79 likes this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#5 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5661 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:33 PM

(No penalty for grounding his club in this action/instance)


But carry on with the shenanigans

Are you allowed to touch the ground if you're falling over or something? 


  • BumpunRun likes this

#6 Goldy

Goldy

    Ed Rayner's love child

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38967 posts
  • Location20m closer than you expected

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:34 PM

If someone videos it and puts in on YouTube...yes.
  • Snappy McSnapperton likes this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid, Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Winner B grade OOM Curlewis 2018

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 26/12/17, 15th hole, Callaway BB Alpha, HOF Patriot shaft, same old testicles of steel
C Grade LD Growling Frog 11/8/18, blah blah blah,,,,this is getting to be almost monotonous..... 

C Grade LD Growling Frog 1/9/18,...maybe these are now so commonplace I should just stop listing them....

 

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#7 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24274 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:41 PM

You are allowed to use a club to stop yourself from falling, provided you don't change the lie of your ball.

If the place to drop is rubbish, he could have replayed from the tee.

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.


#8 Joe79

Joe79

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3032 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 27 November 2017 - 12:42 PM

Are you allowed to touch the ground if you're falling over or something? 

13-4 exception 1

 

 1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b ) places his clubs in a hazard.

 

https://www.randa.or...hibited-Actions


Edited by Short Putt Man, 27 November 2017 - 12:44 PM.

  • Itchy4Scratch likes this

OOM 4 2017 Moonah Open C Grade and Overall Winner - 39pts

OOM 1 2018 Growling Frog B Grade and Overall Winner - 40pts

 

Cap: 15.4 Gamegolf

 

WITB:

Primary: X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi Stiff | Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tour 3I on Project X 5.5 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on Project X 5.5 Stiff Shafts | Mack Daddy 2 56* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 60* bent to 58* | Odyssey Works Metal-X #1 (2013) |

 

Spare: Big Bertha Mini on Aldila Tour Green Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 52* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 56* bent to 58* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |


#9 Joe79

Joe79

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3032 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:32 PM

Also my understanding would of been:

 

1 off the tee

1 for the hit of the ball in hazard

1 for the hit of himself in hazard

1 for the lost ball into the hazard

1 for the drop of the ball from the hazard

 

so laying 5 hitting 6?


OOM 4 2017 Moonah Open C Grade and Overall Winner - 39pts

OOM 1 2018 Growling Frog B Grade and Overall Winner - 40pts

 

Cap: 15.4 Gamegolf

 

WITB:

Primary: X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi Stiff | Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tour 3I on Project X 5.5 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on Project X 5.5 Stiff Shafts | Mack Daddy 2 56* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 60* bent to 58* | Odyssey Works Metal-X #1 (2013) |

 

Spare: Big Bertha Mini on Aldila Tour Green Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 52* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 56* bent to 58* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |


#10 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24274 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 27 November 2017 - 01:55 PM

Also my understanding would of been:

 

1 off the tee

1 for the hit of the ball in hazard

1 for the hit of himself in hazard

1 for the lost ball into the hazard

1 for the drop of the ball from the hazard

 

so laying 5 hitting 6?

 

He's lying 4.


  • pom and Joe79 like this

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.


#11 Deege

Deege

    Really nice person

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4604 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 27 November 2017 - 04:06 PM

We had a situation on the weekend on the 18th where one of my playing partners was actually scoring pretty well had a complete ###### up.  She barely topped her ball (almost a fresh airy) and then completely lost her balance and spun around, the ball hit her foot on the way through, of which she wasn't even aware until we told her.

 

Turns out our impromptu rules committee who couldn't be bothered looking it up at the time got that decision completely wrong and assigned her a two shot penalty instead of one.  So I want to point out that I have actually learned something in this thread, and sent an apology to my friend.  She wiped the hole regardless and to be fair, was likely to do so regardless of the extra penalty.


Edited by Deege, 27 November 2017 - 04:06 PM.

  • CaNadiAn MiCk and Joe79 like this

Golflink

 

Winner C Grade Long Drive 2013 OOM #2 Heidelberg

Winner B Grade Long Drive 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

Winner B Grade NTP 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

 

Handicap PB - 12.6, baby


#12 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24274 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 27 November 2017 - 04:19 PM

We had a situation on the weekend on the 18th where one of my playing partners was actually scoring pretty well had a complete ###### up.  She barely topped her ball (almost a fresh airy) and then completely lost her balance and spun around, the ball hit her foot on the way through, of which she wasn't even aware until we told her.
 
Turns out our impromptu rules committee who couldn't be bothered looking it up at the time got that decision completely wrong and assigned her a two shot penalty instead of one.  So I want to point out that I have actually learned something in this thread, and sent an apology to my friend.  She wiped the hole regardless and to be fair, was likely to do so regardless of the extra penalty.


It used to be 2, now it's 1. Many who've been playing golf for a long time can't update their brains.
  • pom likes this

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.


#13 Deege

Deege

    Really nice person

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4604 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 27 November 2017 - 04:24 PM

It used to be 2, now it's 1. Many who've been playing golf for a long time can't update their brains.

 

In my head I always thought it was 2 if you are an idiot and 1 if the course is an idiot.  But I should just look it up.


Golflink

 

Winner C Grade Long Drive 2013 OOM #2 Heidelberg

Winner B Grade Long Drive 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

Winner B Grade NTP 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

 

Handicap PB - 12.6, baby


#14 Hokey Pokey

Hokey Pokey

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20335 posts
  • Location.

Posted 27 November 2017 - 04:27 PM

Many people who have been driving for a long time can’t avoid smashing into their own house.
  • languid, RobNewy, Goldy and 2 others like this

#15 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24274 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 28 November 2017 - 05:03 PM

Many people who have been driving for a long time can’t avoid smashing into their own house.


You seem to be OBsessed with that, Max. A recurring childhood nightmare perhaps?
  • CaNadiAn MiCk and Bluethunda like this

Golflink

Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users