In the same way though, couldn’t a 1 hole competition be played to determine who will concede the match?
So I understand that you couldn’t play 1 hole of your 18 hole match and then have the loser of that first hole concede the remaining holes. But if a 1 hole comp is played at a different time and not in the allotted time spot of your match (as per the definitions of a stipulated round it can’t be defined as one and therefore shouldn’t be treated as one) and is done solely to determine who will concede the match, isn’t that more or less the same thing as a putting comp? Both involve golf and both take place on a golf course and both can’t be defined as a stipulated round as per the rules.
I guess my issue with the interpretation of this rule is that if you are going to allow a form of golfing competition to be played (eg: putting comp) to decide who will concede the match then I don’t agree that a 1 hole competition shouldn’t also be allowed as per the rules.
Your problem, Monty, is that you're trying to apply logic to a Rules situation.
I agree with your logic.
If a match result is to be obtained by some means other than actually playing a real match, and the players agree, how can there be a problem?