Jump to content


 

Photo

Leaf Moves Ball, 4 Shot Penalty


  • Please log in to reply
100 replies to this topic

#1 Madambo

Madambo

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 12543 posts

Posted 25 September 2017 - 10:14 AM

??

A leaf led to one player's four-stroke penalty — and even worse — it might cost him a PGA Tour card as well.

Matthew Southgate was one over through 14 holes during the final round of the DAP Championship on Sunday, which is a part of the Web.com Tour Finals.

While Southgate was putting on the 15th at Canterbury Golf Club in Ohio, his ball was struck by a leaf that blew across the green, and it pushed the ball off line ever so slightly.

Southgate finished the hole, but he made a huge error in the process. Southgate should have placed his ball back to its original location and replayed the shot without penalty, but by continuing the hole he handed himself a four-stroke penalty (two for playing from the wrong spot and two more for signing an incorrect card).

http://www.golf.com/...-stroke-penalty


Join iseekgolf.com on Facebook

Follow iseekgolf.com on Twitter

For golf industry news.


#2 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40401 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 September 2017 - 10:48 AM

How did they know it moved?

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#3 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4879 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 25 September 2017 - 10:49 AM

How did they know it moved?

You can see it on the video. He rolls the putt and the leaf blows across and knocks the ball off line. 
 



#4 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40401 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 September 2017 - 10:50 AM

While it was in motion?

Edited by Weetbix, 25 September 2017 - 10:51 AM.

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#5 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4879 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 25 September 2017 - 10:52 AM

Yep, it's only a 6 or 8 foot putt as well. So strange. 



#6 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40401 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:02 AM

I'm confused - I wouldn't think that a natural material affecting a ball in motion would count?

The ball is affected by leaves lying on the greenand you don't get to replay the shot?

Edited by Weetbix, 25 September 2017 - 11:03 AM.

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#7 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4879 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:08 AM

I'm confused - I wouldn't think that a natural material affecting a ball in motion would count?

The ball is affected by leaves lying on the greenand you don't get to replay the shot?

It comes under the outside agency definition, the outside agency has to be moving. 

 

b. If a player's ball in motion after a stroke
 on the putting green
 is deflected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any moving or animate outside agency, except a worm, insect or the like, the stroke
 is cancelled.  The ball must be replaced and replayed.



#8 Madambo

Madambo

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 12543 posts

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:09 AM

I'm confused - I wouldn't think that a natural material affecting a ball in motion would count?

The ball is affected by leaves lying on the greenand you don't get to replay the shot?

Same here-  click on link there is a video of it happening. 


Join iseekgolf.com on Facebook

Follow iseekgolf.com on Twitter

For golf industry news.


#9 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40401 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:11 AM

Thanks Itchy - that's brutal to get such a massively penalty from not picking that up

Ouch

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#10 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4879 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:12 AM

Thanks Itchy - that's brutal to get such a massively penalty from not picking that up

Ouch

So brutal, especially when he could've actually just re-played the stroke and holed the putt. 

 


  • Madambo likes this

#11 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22855 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 25 September 2017 - 11:18 AM

Yet another rules failure. The player should be allowed the option to cancel the stroke and replay, and not be penalised if he chooses not to do so.

Also note that if the stroke is made from off the putting green, there is no cancellation and replay, nor any option to do so.

It is inconsistencies such as these that make the rules 'difficult' for average golfers.

#12 Madambo

Madambo

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 12543 posts

Posted 25 September 2017 - 12:06 PM

Thanks Itchy - that's brutal to get such a massively penalty from not picking that up

Ouch

 

 

So brutal, especially when he could've actually just re-played the stroke and holed the putt. 

 

"worm, insect or the like"- so if there was one on the leaf it wouldn't be penalty?


Join iseekgolf.com on Facebook

Follow iseekgolf.com on Twitter

For golf industry news.


#13 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4879 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 25 September 2017 - 12:12 PM

"worm, insect or the like"- so if there was one on the leaf it wouldn't be penalty?

Depends if it was the worm/insect or the leaf that made contact with the ball. 


  • Madambo likes this

#14 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40401 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 25 September 2017 - 12:32 PM

Why the hell is it ok for worms and insects to move the ball off line but not leaves?

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#15 Goldy

Goldy

    Got any Greek in you?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36484 posts
  • LocationWant some?

Posted 25 September 2017 - 01:00 PM

So why is this stupid?

 

Asking for a friend.


  • Weetbix and koiom K Frenzy like this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users