Jump to content


 

Photo

Hitting Wrong Ball In A Hazard


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12643 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 18 June 2017 - 09:22 PM

The following scenario was outlined to me today.  Is it right or wrong??

 

Two balls lay in a bunker which of course is a hazard.  Player A steps in and hits what he thinks is his ball, goes over the green into another bunker.  Walks over and plays another shot with that ball and ball stays in the bunker.  Hits out of bunker and lands on the green.  Player B walks into bunker and prepares to play his shot and notices that remaining ball is not his.  Player A then checks the ball he has now hit 3 times and inquires as to what penalties should be invoked. Player C states that no penalty is incurred, because you cannot be penalised for hitting a wrong ball in a hazard.  Go back to hazard, drop ball as close as possible to original position and continue with no penalty.

 

Is this correct??


  • The Pres likes this

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#2 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8309 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 18 June 2017 - 10:00 PM

Nope...
You have to identify your ball... you are allowed to do so ib a hazard but must recreate your lie in said hazard...
Player A has hit the wrong ball and is up for a penalty for the first shot only. Ball must be replaced and the initial lie recreated....
I think.... awaiting to get shot down by the experts

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#3 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 08:22 AM

A wrong ball is a wrong ball wherever it happens to lie on the course. 2 stroke penalty. Strokes played with the wrong ball do not count. The hole must be completed with the correct ball o/w DQ. 

The ball must be replaced in its recreated original position (but see rule 20-3).

 

Some years ago the rule was that there was no penalty for playing a wrong ball from a hazard. Changed in 2010.


  • The Pres likes this

#4 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12643 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 19 June 2017 - 08:07 PM

A wrong ball is a wrong ball wherever it happens to lie on the course. 2 stroke penalty. Strokes played with the wrong ball do not count. The hole must be completed with the correct ball o/w DQ. 

The ball must be replaced in its recreated original position (but see rule 20-3).

 

Some years ago the rule was that there was no penalty for playing a wrong ball from a hazard. Changed in 2010.

 

Thanks AAA, I guess player C was not aware of the rule change.

 

 

Nope...
You have to identify your ball... you are allowed to do so ib a hazard but must recreate your lie in said hazard...
Player A has hit the wrong ball and is up for a penalty for the first shot only. Ball must be replaced and the initial lie recreated....
I think.... awaiting to get shot down by the experts

 

That is what I thought as well, but bumkin like me telling a Pennant Player he was wrong didn't go over too well.


The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#5 The Pres

The Pres

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17858 posts
  • Location.

Posted 19 June 2017 - 08:09 PM

Thanks AAA, I guess player C was not aware of the rule change.
 
 

 
That is what I thought as well, but bumkin like me telling a Pennant Player he was wrong didn't go over too well.


Remember we played with guy at Dunheved that wanted a drop from a pole inside the hazard on the 2nd?

#6 PerryGroves

PerryGroves

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 08:37 PM

I like the old rule, the less punters with their hands on the pill, the better.

#7 clarhamp

clarhamp

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 93 posts

Posted 20 June 2017 - 08:53 AM

A wrong ball is a wrong ball wherever it happens to lie on the course. 2 stroke penalty. Strokes played with the wrong ball do not count. The hole must be completed with the correct ball o/w DQ. 

The ball must be replaced in its recreated original position (but see rule 20-3).

 

Some years ago the rule was that there was no penalty for playing a wrong ball from a hazard. Changed in 2010.

 

Not quite wherever:

 

Exception: There is no penalty if a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a water hazard. Any strokes made at a wrong ball moving in water in a water hazard do not count in the competitor's score.

 


#8 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12643 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 20 June 2017 - 10:47 AM

 

Not quite wherever:

 

Exception: There is no penalty if a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball that is moving in water in a water hazard. Any strokes made at a wrong ball moving in water in a water hazard do not count in the competitor's score.

 

 

 

This was in a bunker full of stationary sand..


  • BarnEsy05, Francie and The Pres like this

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#9 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12643 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 20 June 2017 - 10:48 AM

Remember we played with guy at Dunheved that wanted a drop from a pole inside the hazard on the 2nd?

 

Was that more than 2 days ago??


  • pom likes this

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#10 The Pres

The Pres

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17858 posts
  • Location.

Posted 20 June 2017 - 11:22 AM

Was that more than 2 days ago??


I don't remember how long ago. ;)

#11 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11177 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 20 June 2017 - 12:49 PM

I don't remember how long ago. ;)

I'm still there


  • Commish and The Pres like this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#12 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 21 June 2017 - 12:26 AM

A wrong ball is a wrong ball wherever it happens to lie on the course. 2 stroke penalty. Strokes played with the wrong ball do not count. The hole must be completed with the correct ball o/w DQ. 

The ball must be replaced in its recreated original position (but see rule 20-3).

 

Some years ago the rule was that there was no penalty for playing a wrong ball from a hazard. Changed in 2010.

FWIW, it actually changed in 2008 - there was no new Rules code in 2010.



#13 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 21 June 2017 - 05:55 AM

FWIW, it actually changed in 2008 - there was no new Rules code in 2010.

Of course. I saw it in my 2006 Decisions book and added four years. Dull.



#14 BarnEsy05

BarnEsy05

    FLABBERGASTED

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 28789 posts
  • LocationIn Disbelief

Posted 21 June 2017 - 04:33 PM

This was in a bunker full of stationary sand..

Are you sure there wasn't an earthquake at the time?


  • The Pres likes this

A

 

DON'T LET THE BLACK DOG WIN...

 

HELP IS OUT THERE

 
 
5 Time ISG NSW WBT Winner

2013 ISG NSW WBT COC Runner Up

2015 ISG NSW WBT COC

2nd ISG NSW Life Member Inductee

2012 Inaugural ISG National Supreme Putting Champion .

2013 ISG National Championships...13th place...now that's desperately unlucky

2013 ISG National Championships...3rd Place 2nd Round - Moonah Links
2014 ISG National Championships...13th place...no other golfer could be that desperately unlucky 2 years in a row!

2015 ISG National Championships...21st place...that's farked

2016 ISG National Championships...waaaaay down the list.

2016 ISG National Championships...2nd place Yarra Yarra Satellite Game 

2016 ISG National Championships...2nd place Huntingdale Satellite Game

2016 ISG National Championships...Captain of winning NSW Team, SOO.

2013 Inaugural Brass Yacht Winner

2014 Brass Yacht Winner

2015 Brass Yacht Runner-up

2016 Brass Yacht Winner

 

 

Life Motto: "If it's free, it's for me!"

 

 

 

 

Team Live4BarnEsy...forever undefeated angel-2-smiley-emoticon.gif

 
Desperately Unlucky ©


#15 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12643 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 21 June 2017 - 07:16 PM

Are you sure there wasn't an earthquake at the time?

 I'm not sure, but yeah he may have had a bad attack of flatulence at that moment.  Glad I wasn't nearby if he did.. :huh:


The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users