Jump to content



Note Rule 13-4 "growing Thing"

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 languid


    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1889 posts

Posted 30 May 2017 - 05:00 PM

The Note reads

 Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.


When I first got involved with this Note I interpreted the "growing thing" in the sense of still growing.


Not unreasonable but wrong.


After a little while I realised that dormant or dead things would not be able to be touched and this would require clear knowledge of the life status of the bush or whatever.


That would be quite impractical. 


Just one of many examples of the mistakes I made reading a Rule and coming to the wrong conclusion.


Simpler language and simpler Rules will be a good thing.





Edited by languid, 30 May 2017 - 05:02 PM.

#2 OldBogey


    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24172 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 30 May 2017 - 06:53 PM

Another problem with the way that's written is that a reader could glance over it and interpret the start to be:
"Not at any time" which would be even worse.

If someone is quickly looking for an answer while out on the course, they could get it wrong.


Olinda Golf Club

Warragul Country Club

People say that nothing is impossible, but I do nothing every day.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users