Jump to content


 

Photo

Wake Up Call - In Light Of Pennant Player Dq Last Weekend


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic

#1 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1297 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 04 April 2017 - 10:35 AM

My sauces BBQ and Chilli tell me it was for

 

While waiting on the tee player hits ball through tee markers from behind and past them and then walks up and hits it back.

 

Hence practising on the course.



#2 Never Trendy

Never Trendy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:03 AM

I thought you were allowed to in Match Play

Rule 7-1a

Match Play

On any day of a match play competition, a player may practise on the competition course before a round.

Edited by Never Trendy, 04 April 2017 - 11:06 AM.

Burglar Extraordinaire

4 Time SEQ Winner

2015 Nats Runner Up

2015 Nats 4BBB Runner Up (With 3 Birdie Goldy)


Golflink -http://www.golflink....k_No=4072302545


GolfShot - http://golfshot.com/...0230/statistics


#3 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1297 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:09 AM

Golf Victoria has a local rule for pennant play that it is not allowed


  • voss and Never Trendy like this

#4 Never Trendy

Never Trendy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 641 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:11 AM

Golf Victoria has a local rule for pennant play that it is not allowed


Fair enough

Burglar Extraordinaire

4 Time SEQ Winner

2015 Nats Runner Up

2015 Nats 4BBB Runner Up (With 3 Birdie Goldy)


Golflink -http://www.golflink....k_No=4072302545


GolfShot - http://golfshot.com/...0230/statistics


#5 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1297 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:15 AM

It's a timely reminder that probably to err on the side of caution and don't hit the ball past the tee markers



#6 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4742 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:39 AM

It's a timely reminder that probably to err on the side of caution and don't hit the ball past the tee markers

It's a more timely reminder of the pettiness of rules officials really. 

Imagine trying to keep a straight face while telling a bloke you were DQ'ing him for doing that. It takes a special kind of person to be that pedantic. 


  • Goldy, koiom K Frenzy, Snappy McSnapperton and 1 other like this

#7 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4742 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:49 AM

The other thing is, if it was on the first tee while he was waiting to hit off, why couldn't he just count the strokes he had as part of his score for that hole? ie, 2 for the chips up and back, plus any penalties for teeing off too far back or outside the markers. All that would mean is a lost hole then. 



#8 Phil Mycrackin

Phil Mycrackin

    Single

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18356 posts
  • LocationReady to mingle

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:51 AM

It's a more timely reminder of the pettiness of rules officials really. 

Imagine trying to keep a straight face while telling a bloke you were DQ'ing him for doing that. It takes a special kind of person to be that pedantic. 

 

OBviously.


  • GhettoGolfer, Ji Bao He, Francie and 2 others like this

#9 GhettoGolfer

GhettoGolfer

    Duke Ghetto Moose

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9013 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 04 April 2017 - 12:16 PM

Someone watched the footage and rang through the transgression didnt they?

Loss of hole and not a dq would be the obvious penalty if one was to be applied at all.
6th March 2016 - Beat the ISG Matchplay Champion!

Posted Image

#10 RulesGeek

RulesGeek

    Average Member; Advanced Technique

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1205 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 02:12 PM

Do these Pennant Matches have a referee assigned to accompany the match?

 

Did the disqualified player (DP) and his opponent (OPP) discuss the breach (of Rule 7-1a and agree not to apply the penalty (Rule 1-3)?

 

Did the OPP make a claim (Rule 2-5) regarding the DP's practice on the course?

 

If the answers to all 3 questions are 'No', then no ruling should have been made and play should have continued as if nothing had happened (Definition of "Referee").


sigimage.png


#11 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11672 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 04 April 2017 - 04:37 PM

Was this practising chipping on the tee which is allowed?


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#12 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22676 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 04 April 2017 - 04:50 PM

The other thing is, if it was on the first tee while he was waiting to hit off, why couldn't he just count the strokes he had as part of his score for that hole? ie, 2 for the chips up and back, plus any penalties for teeing off too far back or outside the markers. All that would mean is a lost hole then.

No penalty for teeing off from outside the teeing ground. However, your opponent may require you to replay the stroke from the correct but must request that before you play your next stroke (the chip back).

May have played out of order (not sure of penalty without looking it up).

Surely, loss of hole should have been the maximum penalty, depending on what is specified in the pennant rules.

#13 Kiwi

Kiwi

    Wholly Awesomeness

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23837 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:10 PM

Two sandhurst colts DQ'd last  sund at the bergh for chipping on the 9th green before pennant matches started.

players 1 & 3 (of 5).

Sandhurst went on to win with out said players


Half the Trentham dream team

#14 Lukos87

Lukos87

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1349 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 09:57 PM

Woodlands number one hit 2 putts on a green near first tee and GV official DQ'd him.
  • voss likes this

#15 Short Putt Man

Short Putt Man

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2762 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 05 April 2017 - 07:55 AM

Two sandhurst colts DQ'd last  sund at the bergh for chipping on the 9th green before pennant matches started.

players 1 & 3 (of 5).

Sandhurst went on to win with out said players

 

Lol please don't tell me they thought it was a chipping practice green or something? (There is one but its a lot further up the 10th fairway)

 

Or just silly enough they thought they could get away with it (in front of the seating area and 10th Tee and 5th Tee and Iron Range and you get the point lol)


Cap: 17.9 Gamegolf

WITB:

Primary: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi 60 Stiff Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Fujukura 665 Reg Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 52* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 56* bent to 58* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |

 

Holiday:  X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Aldila Tour Green Shaft Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tour 3I on Project X 5.5 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on Project X 5.5 Stiff Shafts | Mack Daddy 2 56* bent to 54* | Mack Daddy 2 60* bent to 58* | Odyssey Metal-X #1 (2013) |

Spares: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Fujikura 665 Reg Shaft 3w Length | Wilson Staff FG Tours Head only 4 -PW | True Temper XP 105 Stiff Shafts 4 - PW length | Mack Daddy 2 Slate 52* S Grind |

Goals: Get back to GA 15.9





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users