So what you are saying is a player can make an inadvertent error on the first hole of a 72 hole competition, someone can find it on the last day, inform officials via phone after seeing it in frame by frame at home, the match referee can then inform the player as they are walking up the 72nd fairway that they have be penalised 4 strokes.
If that is correct the game is a joke.
I don't think that's a joke at all. It is an intrinsic part of the beauty of the game Tol and golf isn't like other games.
It means that the right outcome is achieved. What is a joke though is these inadvertent errors you speak of. These are pros and they ought to know the rules. They even have officials for a second opinion so nothing should be inadvertent.