Jump to content


 

Photo

Lexi - Rule Infringement


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#61 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13052 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 11 July 2017 - 05:38 PM

Is it even possible to put the ball back in exactly the same position that it was prior to it being lifted??  I'd suggest not.  This was not as bad as Lexi's effort, but it is definitely not in the same spot.  In the end, would that couple of millimetres have been any actual advantage.  I mean the ball didn't exactly teeter on the edge for 5 secs before toppling over the edge into the abyss.

 

I'm with Bump.... all good, play on.


The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#62 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11614 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 12 July 2017 - 08:22 AM

Is it even possible to put the ball back in exactly the same position that it was prior to it being lifted??  I'd suggest not.  This was not as bad as Lexi's effort, but it is definitely not in the same spot.  In the end, would that couple of millimetres have been any actual advantage.  I mean the ball didn't exactly teeter on the edge for 5 secs before toppling over the edge into the abyss.

 

I'm with Bump.... all good, play on.

Actually it was more like 25 mm.  Not much , but again, How much is acceptable?


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#63 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13052 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 12 July 2017 - 08:29 AM

Actually it was more like 25 mm.  Not much , but again, How much is acceptable?

 

I didn't think or look like it was that far.  An inch is a big move, so if that was the distance, then I retract my earlier statement.  DQ the bastard.


  • Li Ning and RobNewy like this

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#64 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Great Sage...Equal of Heaven...

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9788 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 12 July 2017 - 08:33 AM

4 stroke penalty.

Whatever you do, you do to yourself

http://dorsetgolfclub.com.au/


#65 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11614 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 12 July 2017 - 03:26 PM

I didn't think or look like it was that far.  An inch is a big move, so if that was the distance, then I retract my earlier statement.  DQ the bastard.

I just tried it using a $1 coin as a marker. If the marker was replaced exactly where it was moved from when he replaced the ball he would have gained 35mm give or take a couple of mm.


  • Madambo likes this
Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#66 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10410 posts
  • LocationEast Melbourne

Posted 12 July 2017 - 08:15 PM

I just tried it using a $1 coin as a marker. If the marker was replaced exactly where it was moved from when he replaced the ball he would have gained 35mm give or take a couple of mm.


Im still yet to see actual footage of him replacing the ball IN FRONT of his marker.
If the head rules guy thinks he gained no real advantage, why is everyone blowing up?

Show me a link to the actual ball placement and i may change my opinion
  • BumpunRun likes this

#67 Shanks4ever

Shanks4ever

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3088 posts

Posted 12 July 2017 - 09:35 PM


Show me a link to the actual ball placement and i may change my opinion

http://golfweek.com/...en-explanation/

 

There you go,how is your opinion now?


  • Li Ning likes this

#68 2Putts

2Putts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9700 posts
  • LocationDown on the farm

Posted 12 July 2017 - 09:44 PM

I thought it was pretty clear in the footage on golf week that he simply forgot that he had marked to side and plonked his ball back "in front" of his marker.

 

Therefore, no attempt to put it in the right place.

 

Clear breach of the new rule = 2 shot penalty.


http://www.golf.org....icap/2121504048

 

 

I'm sure I won something sometime.... somewhere ...


#69 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10410 posts
  • LocationEast Melbourne

Posted 13 July 2017 - 06:06 AM

http://golfweek.com/...en-explanation/
 
There you go,how is your opinion now?


You still cant see xactly were the ball is in relation to the marker because its hidden by his hand.there is no clear shot of the ball and marker after he has replaced the ball
  • AGQ likes this

#70 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11614 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 13 July 2017 - 08:57 PM

You still cant see xactly were the ball is in relation to the marker because its hidden by his hand.there is no clear shot of the ball and marker after he has replaced the ball

Not sure what you are seeing but I see a player placing his ball in front of his marker. The first issue here is the ball being replaced in the incorrect spot. the second error & the more important one is the rules official making an incorrect ruling. As I posted before. It has opened a can of worms & this will be talked about for some time yet. And brought up again & again whenever a slightly controversial ruling is made.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#71 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10410 posts
  • LocationEast Melbourne

Posted 14 July 2017 - 06:14 AM

Not sure what you are seeing but I see a player placing his ball in front of his marker. The first issue here is the ball being replaced in the incorrect spot. the second error & the more important one is the rules official making an incorrect ruling. As I posted before. It has opened a can of worms & this will be talked about for some time yet. And brought up again & again whenever a slightly controversial ruling is made.


Im not sure what you are seeing, but there is no shot of the ball and the marker together




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users