Jump to content


 

Photo

Lexi - Rule Infringement


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#1 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Great Sage...Equal of Heaven...

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9347 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:17 AM

How many of you have done this and not given yourself a penalty?

Whatever you do, you do to yourself

http://dorsetgolfclub.com.au/


#2 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11369 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:28 AM

I'll put my hand up here and admit that I have done what she did.

 

it was pointed out by an online viewer that I had signed for an incorrect scorecard, in my case though, the number was higher than what I shot so it didn't really matter in the end.  


  • The Pres and Parmachine like this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#3 The Pres

The Pres

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17961 posts
  • Location.

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:44 AM

No, I have never cheated.

#4 iRON MiCK

iRON MiCK

    Great Sage...Equal of Heaven...

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9347 posts
  • Locationwww.iseekgolf.com

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:46 AM

I admire your honesty Captain. Anyone else care to share and own it?

Whatever you do, you do to yourself

http://dorsetgolfclub.com.au/


#5 Deege

Deege

    Really nice person

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3848 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 04 April 2017 - 08:49 AM

I am sure that I have made similar errors in replacing balls or whatever.  I can't really admit to it, because, like her, I am sure that I didn't realise at the time that I have replaced the ball not quite in the same spot.

 

I have called penalties on myself that I could have got away with when the ball moves marginally, but equally I am sure that I have had many occasions where the ball has moved marginally and I didn't notice and didn't call a penalty.  If someone was watching my every move with a camera, I imagine there are any number of times that someone could call in a penalty.


  • RobNewy, Schmuck and Parmachine like this

Golflink

 

Winner C Grade Long Drive 2013 OOM #2 Heidelberg

Winner B Grade Long Drive 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

Winner B Grade NTP 2015 OOM #4 Heritage

 

Handicap PB - 12.6, baby


#6 Tigerblood

Tigerblood

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3038 posts
  • LocationRingwood East

Posted 04 April 2017 - 09:52 AM

How many of you have done this and not given yourself a penalty?


I can honestly say I have never moved my ball across the line of the putt.

It's all pretty simple, if she put the ball back in front of the marker this all would have been avoided

Hole In One Eastwood 17th 153 mtrs,  27/12/12


#7 koiom K Frenzy

koiom K Frenzy

    Anyone for a Cuppa?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9825 posts
  • LocationJDM heaven

Posted 04 April 2017 - 10:00 AM

I've called penalties on myself. Last one was just the other week when I played the wrong ball out of rough.
I've done what Lexi did many times though and not realised it was illegal.
From what I could tell she didn't put her ball back directly in front of the marker but rather off to the side a bit?
Is that it, or did she try to pinch a few extra mm forward?
  • Li Ning likes this

http://www.golf.org....icap/3011891841

2012 Curlewis OOM#5 A Grade NTP
2013 Beaconhills Invitational Classic 3rd Place
2013 Stink 3 Club Challenge NAGA
2014 Heritage OOM#3 A Grade Winner
2014 Heritage OOM#3 A Grade NTP
2014 Bendigo Slog Pairs Winner with Ghetto
2014 Vic ISG Matchplay Runner Up
2015 Vic ISG Matchplay Semi Finalist
2016 Keysborough GC April Medal Winner
2016 ISG Race to 6 Winner
2017 Torquay OOM#3 A Grade Winner


#8 baggiez

baggiez

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:30 AM

Seems harsh but at that level they should know exactly how to replace the ball.  Off topic a little, but in the last game I played one of our group was just stepping up to hit the wrong ball (mine) and I told him before he took his stance so it was all good. Then one of the others said if that had been player X in matchplay he would have let him hit it and then called a penalty - wow.   


  • Madambo and Parmachine like this

#9 Madambo

Madambo

    Head of the asylum

  • Administrators
  • 11611 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 11:33 AM

Seems harsh but at that level they should know exactly how to replace the ball.  Off topic a little, but in the last game I played one of our group was just stepping up to hit the wrong ball (mine) and I told him before he took his stance so it was all good. Then one of the others said if that had been player X in matchplay he would have let him hit it and then called a penalty - wow.   

I think most agree the penalty etc was warranted- but having a viewer call in and get the penalty the next day is plain wrong!


  • Commish and Chunky McChunkerson like this

#10 GhettoGolfer

GhettoGolfer

    Duke Ghetto Moose

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8842 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 04 April 2017 - 12:19 PM

I've called penalties on myself. Last one was just the other week when I played the wrong ball out of rough.
I've done what Lexi did many times though and not realised it was illegal.
From what I could tell she didn't put her ball back directly in front of the marker but rather off to the side a bit?
Is that it, or did she try to pinch a few extra mm forward?

Watch this.

http://mobile.abc.ne...262?pfmredir=sm


There is bugger all in it. Looks like a brain fart to me.

Edited by GhettoGolfer, 04 April 2017 - 12:19 PM.

6th March 2016 - Beat the ISG Matchplay Champion!

Posted Image

#11 The Pres

The Pres

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17961 posts
  • Location.

Posted 04 April 2017 - 12:32 PM

Watch this.

http://mobile.abc.ne...262?pfmredir=sm


There is bugger all in it. Looks like a brain fart to me.

 

You need to see the entire footage where she walks up to tap it in. She then decides to mark it and moves the ball.

 

I don't buy that it was an accident.


  • Rodent and TNT like this

#12 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12842 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 04 April 2017 - 01:36 PM

It may have been a brain fade and that is the first time I have seen the footage, BUT pretty obvious it was an intended movement to the left of the marker.  Not sure if it is breaking the rules or not, but if my ball sits in a hole from coring when I mark it, I will intentionally move it to the side of the core hole but no closer to the hole.  Can I do that??  If I can't, I guess I better DQ myself form my last 3 rounds. :(


  • Francie likes this

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#13 Tolmij

Tolmij

    Just enjoying life

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27106 posts
  • LocationHere in paradise

Posted 04 April 2017 - 01:47 PM

Many other sports have had refereeing mistakes and incidents that were not noticed at the time. Golf is the only one that goes back in time to issue retrospective penalties. It's a joke and does nothing for the game.
Intended to break 90 this year, not going well.

Concentrating just getting round the course

#14 Parmachine

Parmachine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 01:51 PM

It may have been a brain fade and that is the first time I have seen the footage, BUT pretty obvious it was an intended movement to the left of the marker.  Not sure if it is breaking the rules or not, but if my ball sits in a hole from coring when I mark it, I will intentionally move it to the side of the core hole but no closer to the hole.  Can I do that??  If I can't, I guess I better DQ myself form my last 3 rounds. :(

You're allowed to do that Commish. Local rules should describe the nearest point placing of the ball when in an aeration hole.


  • Commish and Kiwi like this

#15 Parmachine

Parmachine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 04 April 2017 - 01:58 PM

You wouldn't believe it, but in my pennant match last week on the 3rd hole I played the wrong ball :wacko:

 

Hit my tee shot in the trees, found the ball which was the same make and number as my correct ball and chipped it out for a simple 3rd shot into a par 5. When I get up to address my ball and play my shot, I notice that the ball is unmarked on the side where I have my marking. Believe me, the thought crossed my mind to keep playing it because my opponent wouldn't have known, but I called the penalty upon myself and accepted the automatic loss of hole penalty as a result. I went back and found my correct ball about 10m from where the wrong ball was.

 

Unfortunately my honesty wasn't repaid with a win... I played like garbage the rest of the day and lost 3&1 :( But there's always next week B)


  • davenic and Rodent like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users