Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball Id - Match Play


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 voss

voss

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1610 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 01:24 PM

In Match Play a player changes his ball (same brand, different number) but fails to communicate this to his opponent - ruling please ?

#2 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11816 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 28 March 2017 - 02:00 PM

Was the change between holes or during the hole?

And may I ask you which rule says that he must communicate what ball he is using in the first place?
  • voss and johnno31 like this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#3 RulesDoc

RulesDoc

    Rules Rule

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2490 posts
  • LocationEurope

Posted 28 March 2017 - 03:36 PM

The player doesn't have to give information about the ball during play, but it's a good idea to do so.


  • voss and BumpunRun like this

#4 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22521 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 28 March 2017 - 04:17 PM

It's common practice to inform one's opponent what is being used, but quite unnecessary.
The obligation is on the player to identify his own ball.
  • voss likes this

#5 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2941 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 04:41 PM

If the player has substituted a ball when not permitted by a rule, during play of the hole, he has incurred a penalty. If he does not inform his opponent promptly he loses the hole DQd under 9-2b(i).



#6 voss

voss

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1610 posts

Posted 28 March 2017 - 04:42 PM

I think I have the answer from above but the ball was changed between holes and not during. Thanks !



#7 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 29 March 2017 - 07:17 AM

If the player has substituted a ball when not permitted by a rule, during play of the hole, he has incurred a penalty. If he does not inform his opponent promptly he loses the hole DQd under 9-2b(i).

Since the penalty for the wrong substitution was loss of hole in the first place, would you need to go any further  by applying  9-2b(i)?



#8 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2941 posts

Posted 29 March 2017 - 04:54 PM

True  ;)



#9 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1432 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 30 March 2017 - 07:31 AM

In Match Play a player changes his ball (same brand, different number) but fails to communicate this to his opponent - ruling please ?

 

I wonder where the whole "failed to communicate" concept came from. I've heard countless players bring it up thinking they had to communicate what they were doing to other players.

 

The only rule i can think of where this applies is lifting a ball unfit for play. Don't think there's many others, if any.


| GolfLink 


#10 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4630 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 30 March 2017 - 08:26 AM

I wonder where the whole "failed to communicate" concept came from. I've heard countless players bring it up thinking they had to communicate what they were doing to other players.

 

The only rule i can think of where this applies is lifting a ball unfit for play. Don't think there's many others, if any.

You also have to declare the number of shots you've had on request from your opponent. 
 


  • voss and Monty85 like this

#11 voss

voss

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1610 posts

Posted 30 March 2017 - 10:19 AM

In summary I think it is fair game to communicate with your partner or opponent and declare make and number of your ball. Whilst obviously it is not a Rule of Golf it does act as a means of avoiding some controversy or conflict on course if both are playing identical balls.

 

Also refer Rule 6-5 'Each Player should put an identification mark on his ball'


  • Madambo likes this

#12 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2941 posts

Posted 30 March 2017 - 04:42 PM

I wonder where the whole "failed to communicate" concept came from. I've heard countless players bring it up thinking they had to communicate what they were doing to other players.

 

The only rule i can think of where this applies is lifting a ball unfit for play. Don't think there's many others, if any.

You are required to tell your opponent if you incur a penalty.



#13 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1432 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 30 March 2017 - 05:08 PM

You are required to tell your opponent if you incur a penalty.

 

Interesting. Where does it say this in the rules - i may be looking in the wrong place, but i can't seem to find anything that indicates you must do this for all penalties.

 

Edit: never mind. Found it. 

 

9-3. Stroke Play

competitor who has incurred a penalty should inform his marker as soon as practicable.

 

So no, you are not "required" to, but you should.


Edited by Monty85, 30 March 2017 - 05:21 PM.

| GolfLink 


#14 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2941 posts

Posted 30 March 2017 - 06:07 PM

As I mentioned an opponent, I was thinking more specifically about

 

9-2. Match Play 

A player is deemed to have given wrong information if he:

(i) fails to inform his opponent as soon as practicable that he has incurred a penalty, unless .......


Edited by AAA, 30 March 2017 - 06:09 PM.

  • Monty85 likes this

#15 Monty85

Monty85

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1432 posts
  • LocationWestern Sydney

Posted 30 March 2017 - 08:05 PM

 

As I mentioned an opponent, I was thinking more specifically about

 

9-2. Match Play 

A player is deemed to have given wrong information if he:

(i) fails to inform his opponent as soon as practicable that he has incurred a penalty, unless .......

 

 

It's worth noting the following lines of that rule as well I think. 

 

unless (a) he was obviously proceeding under a Rule involving a penalty and this was observed by his opponent, or (B) he corrects the mistake before his opponent makes his next stroke


| GolfLink 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users