Jump to content


 

Photo

Hitting Moving Ball.


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11583 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:04 PM

 For those that think the rules are too complicated.

  Player hits tee shot into right hand side rough which is reasonably thick.He hits three more shots, getting a little more hot under the collar each time. His 5th shot runs along the ground for several metres, hits something & pops up in the air. Meanwhile our poor golfer has totally lost it and has hurled the club after the ball. The club strikes the ball in mid air & deflects it. Ruling please.  This is not a hyperthetical it happened.


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#2 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38566 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:12 PM

Pick up - it's a wipe! :D
  • Itchy4Scratch, seve_ and stevejones5346@gmail.com like this

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#3 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8309 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:12 PM

And it was as funny as.....
I don't even know where to start looking..
It occurred during a stroke 9 hole hut and giggle comp....
One only wishes he video tapped the events because the chances of it happening again are astronomical

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#4 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8309 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:12 PM

Pick up - it's a wipe! :D


One wishes

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#5 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:43 PM

If he threw his club without the intention of hitting the ball and it accidentally  did so, Rule 19-2 applies.  2 stroke penalty and play the ball as it lies.

 

If he intended to hit the ball, Rule 1-2 applies with the same outcome - a 2 stroke penalty and play the ball as it lies.  The difference  between 19-2 and 1-2 is that a serious breach of 1-2 can lead to a DQ.  In the situation described, even if the player intended to hit the ball it wasn't to gain any advantage and so I wouldn't see it as a serious breach.  



#6 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8309 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 09 February 2017 - 10:56 PM

Player had had enough....
Threw the club with no intention of hitting the ball and I would defy him any chance of doing it again....

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#7 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 12:14 AM

If he threw his club without the intention of hitting the ball and it accidentally  did so, Rule 19-2 applies.  2 stroke penalty and play the ball as it lies.

 

If he intended to hit the ball, Rule 1-2 applies with the same outcome - a 2 stroke penalty and play the ball as it lies.  The difference  between 19-2 and 1-2 is that a serious breach of 1-2 can lead to a DQ.  In the situation described, even if the player intended to hit the ball it wasn't to gain any advantage and so I wouldn't see it as a serious breach.  

 I think Rule 19-2 prescribes a one stroke penalty.



#8 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 10 February 2017 - 02:13 AM

 I think Rule 19-2 prescribes a one stroke penalty.

Ouch.  What an elementary error. 

 

You know it's 1 stroke.  I know it's 1 stroke.  My keyboard doesn't.   ;)


Edited by ColinCL, 10 February 2017 - 02:15 AM.

  • pom likes this

#9 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38566 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 10 February 2017 - 06:57 AM

I think Rule 19-2 prescribes a one stroke penalty.


But 2 strokes for intentionally hitting it
  • OldBogey likes this

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#10 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22055 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 10 February 2017 - 09:38 AM

 For those that think the rules are too complicated.

  Player hits tee shot into right hand side rough which is reasonably thick.He hits three more shots, getting a little more hot under the collar each time. His 5th shot runs along the ground for several metres, hits something & pops up in the air. Meanwhile our poor golfer has totally lost it and has hurled the club after the ball. The club strikes the ball in mid air & deflects it. Ruling please.  This is not a hyperthetical it happened.

 

Pom, apart from the hilarity of it all, is your question 'what would be the simple rule for this sort of situation?' ?

I think we'd still need a rule which would cover a ball being deflected or moved.



#11 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 10 February 2017 - 07:09 PM

Oh not another rule 



#12 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 10 February 2017 - 08:06 PM

Pom, apart from the hilarity of it all, is your question 'what would be the simple rule for this sort of situation?' ?

I think we'd still need a rule which would cover a ball being deflected or moved.

Go on then - re-write  Rule 19-2 to be simpler than it is.



#13 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11583 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 10 February 2017 - 08:12 PM

Pom, apart from the hilarity of it all, is your question 'what would be the simple rule for this sort of situation?' ?

I think we'd still need a rule which would cover a ball being deflected or moved.

Nah!  There are too many rules..


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#14 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22055 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 11 February 2017 - 04:02 PM

Go on then - re-write  Rule 19-2 to be simpler than it is.

 
A five minute challenge? Not difficult.

 

Nah!  There are too many rules..

I'm glad you agree.

#15 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22055 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 11 February 2017 - 04:54 PM

How's this for a quick knock-up?

 

Rule 18/19 Ball Moved, Stopped or Deflected

Note: Any action by the player's caddie, his partner in a team event or a partner's caddie is deemed to be an action of the player.

Principle: If the ball was stationary at the time of the incident, it is to be replaced. If the ball was moving it is to be next played from where it came to rest.
Exception - ball deliberately interfered with: its original path is to be estimated and the ball is to be played from where it would likely have come to rest. If there is doubt as to where the ball might have come to rest, the player may opt to replay his stroke without penalty.

If the movement, stopping or deflection is caused by the player, one stroke is added to his score.
If a fellow competitor deliberately caused movement, stopping or deflection, one stroke is added to the fellow competitor's score.
If an opponent in match play (or his caddie) deliberately caused the movement, stopping or deflection, he loses the hole.

If a player accidentally causes his ball to move, such as when marking its position, the ball is replaced without penalty.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users