Jump to content


 

Photo

Stableford Ball In Play


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1645 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 01:52 PM

Actual scenario.
Player A's ball is on the putting green and he has no strokes left to score.
The ball is a bit off the line of putt for B who elects to putt his ball, also on the putting green.
B's putt is poor and his ball is deflected by A's ball.

B knows that A has no strokes left to score and this was in his mind as he elected to putt.

The Definition of Ball in Play indicates that A's ball remains in play even though there is no scoring potential for A.

B should be penalised 2 strokes under 19-5a.
Correct?
I could find nothing in the Rules to suggest otherwise.

#2 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3703 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 12 January 2017 - 01:58 PM

Damn, I thought this was going to be about a special type of ball someone used specifically for playing Stableford but would never dream of using when playing Par. 



#3 Goldy

Goldy

    Got any Greek in you?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 34927 posts
  • LocationWant some?

Posted 12 January 2017 - 02:07 PM

Damn, I thought this was going to be about a special type of ball someone used specifically for playing Stableford but would never dream of using when playing Par. 

 

You've been reading WAY too much of Mouldy's shite.

 

Time to take a rest from it.


  • Itchy4Scratch likes this

Winner "Moonah Legends" 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner "The National" 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8th Feb 2014, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole "Kooindah Waters" 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round "The Glades" 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#4 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 328 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 02:55 PM

Actual scenario.
Player A's ball is on the putting green and he has no strokes left to score.
The ball is a bit off the line of putt for B who elects to putt his ball, also on the putting green.
B's putt is poor and his ball is deflected by A's ball.

B knows that A has no strokes left to score and this was in his mind as he elected to putt.

The Definition of Ball in Play indicates that A's ball remains in play even though there is no scoring potential for A.

B should be penalised 2 strokes under 19-5a.
Correct?
I could find nothing in the Rules to suggest otherwise.

 

You are correct - Stableford is stroke play.  The fact that A could not score any points is irrelevant.  B was careless.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users