Jump to content


 

Photo

Can I Move A Red Stake?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Mr_C

Mr_C

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6425 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 01 January 2017 - 01:18 PM

Hazard down the left of the fairway, ball was about 1 foot to the right of the red stake, stake was impeding my swing.

Ball obviously outside of the hazard but my stance was inside. Partner and I concluded that I was able to move the stake and play without penalty. Was this correct?

http://www.golflink....k_No=4070706250

 

 

Southbound       


#2 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    Mouldy has another lesson coming up

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15329 posts
  • LocationEating and Drinking somewhere

Posted 01 January 2017 - 02:10 PM

No. Someone will quote the bible and verse but it's been asked before.

Shanklink

 

OOM Tour

I am mid table mediocrity !

 

Baconwide Tour

Runner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at Yarrambat

NAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews Beach

 

Choppers Tour

Winner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at Sunshine

Winner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport

 

"not sure that makes sense but anyway"


#3 AhBen

AhBen

    ISG AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL 4BBB CHAMPION, WITH HARRO

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16083 posts
  • LocationHanging off Karrie Webb at the ANA Inspirational

Posted 01 January 2017 - 02:17 PM

No you can't mate
DEBUT: US Masters, Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA 2016
DEBUT: ANA Inspirational LPGA Mission Hills, Palm Springs, CA 2016
Reacquainted myself with Karrie Webb, Australia's Greatest Golfer

#4 Bumpy_McBumpFace

Bumpy_McBumpFace

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10744 posts
  • LocationThirteen point six warning points

Posted 01 January 2017 - 02:45 PM

I'll just jump in here if I may to correct the record.

Unless they are defined by the committee as immovable and you can easily rip it out, you may do so.
Rule 24-1
  • *Mouldy, pom and Schmuck like this
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#5 Mr_C

Mr_C

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6425 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 01 January 2017 - 04:30 PM

It was one of those stakes with the metal spike. It was removed effortlessly and replaced in the exact same position.

http://www.golflink....k_No=4070706250

 

 

Southbound       


#6 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11518 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 01 January 2017 - 05:22 PM

It does not matter how easy it is to remove. It is not removable if the club has a local rule making all hazard markers etc as immovable obstructions. normally put in place because the committee & the ground staff get sick & tired of having to replace stakes & solve line of the hazard  disputes when hazards are not marked correctly.

 You will need to check if your club has the local rule in place or not. If not" Bumpy" had the correct answer.


Edited by pom, 01 January 2017 - 05:24 PM.

Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#7 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2715 posts

Posted 01 January 2017 - 06:25 PM

If the red stake isn't an immovable obstruction under local rules I believe you can move it even if your ball is in a hazard.



#8 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2894 posts

Posted 01 January 2017 - 08:35 PM

If the red stake isn't an immovable obstruction under local rules I believe you can move it even if your ball is in a hazard.

Your belief is correct



#9 Mr_C

Mr_C

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6425 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 01 January 2017 - 09:01 PM

OK then, so do I get relief from the stake if I can't move it?

http://www.golflink....k_No=4070706250

 

 

Southbound       


#10 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2894 posts

Posted 01 January 2017 - 11:32 PM

Yes. Providing your ball is not in the hazard, normal relief from an obstruction is available under rule 24-2.



#11 Mr_C

Mr_C

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6425 posts
  • LocationGold Coast

Posted 02 January 2017 - 06:50 AM

OK thanks

http://www.golflink....k_No=4070706250

 

 

Southbound       


#12 Bumpy_McBumpFace

Bumpy_McBumpFace

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10744 posts
  • LocationThirteen point six warning points

Posted 02 January 2017 - 07:28 AM

Awaiting confirmation once the NBN is back up and we can move on really quickly with this one.
"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#13 lord of the river

lord of the river

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 02 January 2017 - 08:54 AM

Depends if someone is looking or not really :)

Edited by lord of the river, 02 January 2017 - 08:55 AM.


#14 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 328 posts

Posted 02 January 2017 - 10:24 AM

Depends if someone is looking or not really :)

 Integrity is what you do when no one is watching; it's doing the right thing all the time, even when it may work to your disadvantage.


Edited by rogolf, 02 January 2017 - 10:26 AM.

  • AhBen likes this

#15 lord of the river

lord of the river

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 02 January 2017 - 11:53 AM

Integrity is what you do when no one is watching; it's doing the right thing all the time, even when it may work to your disadvantage.


Thanks Captain Obvious :)
  • RobNewy likes this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users