Photo

Toolish - Time To Step Back In The Ring!

improvement goals

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 Toolish

Toolish

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3738 posts

Posted 31 December 2016 - 02:53 PM

After about 7 years of half arsing my golf it is time to get back in the ring.  I see a few other journals here so I thought I would kick one off as well!

I have been playing golf for about 20 years now.  Through that time I have had phases of working hard, and phases of not really working on it at all...I think it is time to try to improve again.

So right now I am playing off 4.8.  2016 I played 11 competition rounds, and only 1 was actually better than handicap so I am on the way out unless a few things change!

What is going to change?

1.  I am committing to playing more.  At least 20 competition rounds this year.

2.  I am committing to practising more.  I have been to the range 3 times this year, and 2 of those are in the last fortnight.  At least 1 range session per week.  Short game practise will be at home, at least 15 minutes per day.

3.  I am committing to practising the right things...first lesson is Tuesday next week.

4.  I am committing to playing other courses to grow my game.  I have played too much at my local course and will play more Open events to see some other places!

5.  I am committing to measuring it all.  I bought a GPS yesterday and from this point forward I will be tracking stats to work out where I am losing shots!

6.  I am committing to a weekly update here!

The long term goal is to get the handicap below 3 which allows me to play some of the large state amateur event.  Ideally, Vic Amateur at the end of this year!

• Madambo and RobNewy like this

#2 seve_

seve_

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1241 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 31 December 2016 - 06:33 PM

I'm only 2 months in, but you have encourage me even more.

• Madambo likes this

#3 Weetbix

Weetbix

Par in my sight