Jump to content


 

Photo

Can Another Player Move An Impediment?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12317 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 24 December 2016 - 08:11 PM

Player A tees off into the wilderness.  Upon searching for the ball one of the playing group locates a ball resting against a small tree branch.  Player B moves the branch to check whether the ball is that of Player A and in doing so, moves the ball of player A.  As Player A had no active involvement in the movement of the ball, does he incur a penalty once the ball is replaced to its original position?  OR does the ball and the impediment have to be replaced?  


Edited by Commish, 24 December 2016 - 08:18 PM.

The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#2 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2894 posts

Posted 24 December 2016 - 08:35 PM

Assuming player B is simply a Fellow Competitor and not an Opponent or Partner, there is no penalty. The ball and Loose Impediment must be replaced.

 

Rule 18-4

 

http://www.usga.org/...l#!rule-18,18-4

 

Rules 18-2 and 18-3 apply to Partners or Opponents respectively.


Edited by AAA, 24 December 2016 - 08:38 PM.


#3 Commish

Commish

    No Rhyme Nor Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 12317 posts
  • LocationSydney

Posted 24 December 2016 - 09:18 PM

Assuming player B is simply a Fellow Competitor and not an Opponent or Partner, there is no penalty. The ball and Loose Impediment must be replaced.

 

Rule 18-4

 

http://www.usga.org/...l#!rule-18,18-4

 

Rules 18-2 and 18-3 apply to Partners or Opponents respectivel

 

 

Thanks for that.  Yep fellow competitor and not Player A or his partner.

 

As an aside. I could not see in any of those rules whereby it states that the impediment itself needs to be replaced, only the ball.  In this particular case, the twig was tossed aside without thought.  If the impediment does in fact have to be replaced, how do you replace what cannot be found?


The key to success is to learn to do something right, then do it right every time. Oh I wish.....
Three time winner of the treasured WBT.
2012 ISG National Champs 2nd Round winner @ Robina Woods
2013 ISG National Champs 1st Round winner @ 'The Dunes'
2014 ISG National Champs - Top 10 finish - Played like a girl - MUNT GOLFER

2015 ISG National Champs - Deservedly crowned the National  N.A.G.A.
2016 ISG National Champs 4BBB champion with Francie

 

Hole in One - Rosnay GC, 157 metre Par 3 - 27th February 2015

http://www.golflink....k_no=2030804409


#4 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2894 posts

Posted 24 December 2016 - 11:32 PM

Sorry, you are correct. A loose impediment is not considered part of the lie.

 

http://www.usga.org/...ion-20,d20-3b-8






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users