Jump to content


 

Photo

Taking A Unplayable Due To Being Physically Unable ???


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 06:21 PM

As previously stated played with OB at Warragul today,

Let me paint the picture as they say,

 

The 5th hole at Wedarragul uphill par 4,

Hit drive up the left in the rough, have about 80 metres to go, take old fav Bren Alman 7I and airmail it straight into the left Camel Grass (Pot)

 

Now the fun (that's a sadistic way of describing it) begins.

 

As I walked near the camel grass I was thinking to myself, I'm not going to be able to play this with trying to get the right angle with my bad  right hip.

 

But I tried 5 or 6 times putting left foot in and trying to get a stance with my right foot and ended up twigging by right hip which resulted in a not so good rest of round.

 

Learning

 

As we discussed afterwards with my esteemed partners,

I should have took an unplayable in the bunker

Which meant the full 2 club lengths no nearer the hole .

 

Which meant I would not have put myself through unnecessary  physical anguish.

 

P.S.

Washing Soda Crystal Bath,

Ibuprofen and Red wine is helping



#2 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9849 posts
  • LocationEast Melbourne

Posted 22 December 2016 - 07:58 PM

What is the question ?
  • Francie likes this

#3 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 08:06 PM

What is the question ?

Okay I thought I explained myself,

Has anyone been in the above situation where taking an unplayable as you are not physically able to hit the shot where the ball lies !!!



#4 RobNewy

RobNewy

    Captain Spud

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9849 posts
  • LocationEast Melbourne

Posted 22 December 2016 - 08:18 PM

I would have thought it was the same as any shot you can't hit.
Just because you physically can't do it, shouldn't give you a reprieve

In my book is a normal unplayable

#5 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 08:40 PM

I'm sorry I've wasted everyone's time.



#6 YouGottaHitIt

YouGottaHitIt

    8 for 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1442 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 08:47 PM

As previously stated played with OB at Warragul today,
Let me paint the picture as they say,

The 5th hole at Wedarragul uphill par 4,
Hit drive up the left in the rough, have about 80 metres to go, take old fav Bren Alman 7I and airmail it straight into the left Camel Grass (Pot)

Now the fun (that's a sadistic way of describing it) begins.

As I walked near the camel grass I was thinking to myself, I'm not going to be able to play this with trying to get the right angle with my bad right hip.

But I tried 5 or 6 times putting left foot in and trying to get a stance with my right foot and ended up twigging by right hip which resulted in a not so good rest of round.

Learning

As we discussed afterwards with my esteemed partners,
I should have took an unplayable in the bunker
Which meant the full 2 club lengths no nearer the hole .

Which meant I would not have put myself through unnecessary physical anguish.

P.S.
Washing Soda Crystal Bath,
Ibuprofen and Red wine is helping

You know you weren't confined to just dropping in the bunker? You could take the penalty of stroke and distance and go back to where you hit the previous shot. If you really don't like playing out of a bunker, maybe not such a bad option. So long as you don't just hit it back in the bunker...

If you can read this you're too close!
http://www.golflink....k_No=3040204856


#7 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 08:53 PM

You know you weren't confined to just dropping in the bunker? You could take the penalty of stroke and distance and go back to where you hit the previous shot. If you really don't like playing out of a bunker, maybe not such a bad option. So long as you don't just hit it back in the bunker.

Yes we discussed that option,

Dropping in the bunker no nearer the hole was alright with me.

 

It's taking an unplayable from a position that the majority would think crazy !!

Like it's not stone cold behind a tree



#8 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1067 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:04 PM

You could have taken the ball back in a line from the hole and dropped probably on grass behind the bunker too.

If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#9 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:08 PM

You could have taken the ball back in a line from the hole and dropped probably on grass behind the bunker too.

Sorry, under the rules its only 2 clubs in the bunker no nearer the hole or back down the fairway



#10 GhettoGolfer

GhettoGolfer

    Duke Ghetto Moose

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8408 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:08 PM

You could have just played a round of golf with OB.
Thats where the trouble started.
  • iRON MiCK likes this
6th March 2016 - Beat the ISG Matchplay Champion!

Posted Image

#11 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:12 PM

You could have just played a round of golf with OB.
Thats where the trouble started.

I did, It had nothing to do with OB



#12 GhettoGolfer

GhettoGolfer

    Duke Ghetto Moose

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8408 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:20 PM

I did, It had nothing to do with OB

 

WITHOUT!!!

 

now the punch line has just fizzed.......


  • Francie likes this
6th March 2016 - Beat the ISG Matchplay Champion!

Posted Image

#13 Can Break 80

Can Break 80

    metronome

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8255 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:28 PM

Yes we discussed that option,

Dropping in the bunker no nearer the hole was alright with me.

 

It's taking an unplayable from a position that the majority would think crazy !!

Like it's not stone cold behind a tree

 

I understood the rule to be that the player is sole judge of when a ball is unplayable.

 

you had ISG rules Guru, OB in your group and he didnt give you the correct ruling?.


  • Francie and Schmuck like this

2017 OOM winner at Growling Frog.

 

2016 A grade winner Moonah legends OOM4.

 

2016 3 x winner on SGA tour. 

 

2015 SGA tour Match play champion

 

2015 member of team Vision winners of SGC pennant.

 

 

2014 National ISG champion

2014 winner Kooindah waters

2014 winner Magenta shores


2014 first ever hole in 1 in an ISG event, 4th Hole Kooindah waters 19th October 

2012 winner of  BHIC and gaining a 5 year exemption

 

 


#14 seve_

seve_

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1107 posts
  • LocationSandbelt Country

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:34 PM

I have obviously not explained the events properly, no unplayable was taken at the time.

It was a discussion after the round was over and I said I would have been better off taking an unplayable at the time and not subjecting oneself to physical duress.



#15 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37578 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 22 December 2016 - 09:40 PM

If you're in a bunker you have to take the drop in the bunker

Seve - as CB said I think it's your call if you think it's unplayable so go for it

An example that would be similar is if the ball is right on the edge of a drop off - you may just physically not be able to stand so you can hit the ball
HandicapBest result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th WoodlandsGoal: A round at par or better!Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club ChampionBrisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the YearWinner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope IslandWinner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at WoodlandsSouth East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer<p>http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users