Jump to content


 

Photo

Two Balls From A Hazard


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2744 posts

Posted 22 December 2016 - 04:38 PM

Highly unlikely, but, its xmas so lets stretch the rules gurus.

Player hits his ball into a partially dried out hazard where his ball sits on the mud, he proceeds to hit it with an almighty swing which fires the ball (unknown to him) 100mtrs onto the green. There was another ball buried under his ball which hits the bank directly in front of him and rebounds to the same spot. Assuming it is his he rehits it. What is the ruling?



#2 pom

pom

    Old Grouch.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11594 posts
  • Locationtownsville

Posted 22 December 2016 - 05:00 PM

 2 shot penalty for hitting a wrong ball & we would need to know what happens next.

 If he finds the original ball on the green & not the second ball he may not realize that he has hit a wrong ball. Or did he find the second ball & 1 realize his mistake ? or 2  play it not knowing it was a wrong ball?


Member of the Vision Test Pilot Project.
No VTPP11

#3 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 23 December 2016 - 01:37 AM

Highly unlikely, but, its xmas so lets stretch the rules gurus.

Player hits his ball into a partially dried out hazard where his ball sits on the mud, he proceeds to hit it with an almighty swing which fires the ball (unknown to him) 100mtrs onto the green. There was another ball buried under his ball which hits the bank directly in front of him and rebounds to the same spot. Assuming it is his he rehits it. What is the ruling?

 

Firstly, there is no penalty for hitting the buried ball.  He did not intend to hit it and so has not made a stroke at it. [Decision 15/2]

A 2 stroke penalty for playing a wrong ball when he plays the ball that was dislodged - as POM says.  At  whatever point he realises the ball he is playing is the wrong ball he must abandon it, find his original ball and play it as it lies (on the green in this instance).  None of the strokes  played with the wrong ball are counted, just the 2 penalty strokes.


Edited by ColinCL, 23 December 2016 - 01:38 AM.


#4 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 23 December 2016 - 05:25 AM

I should have said that the above "ruling" applies to stroke play.  In match play, the player would lose the hole for playing the wrong ball.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users