Jump to content



Deliberately Stopping A Ball

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Lanesend



  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 December 2016 - 03:31 PM

Please advise,

A player on the putting green deliberately stopped a ball hit from the same fairway from a player in the following group, that was going to go through the green possibly into a hazzard, later that day he was told he could have placed the ball into a spot that he considered the ball would have reached had it not been stopped.In the meantime the player who hit this ball found himself still on the par five green in 2 ,putting for an eagle which he missed but a birdie was made and the score recorded as a 4. is this correct


Regards Lanesend

#2 westy5555


    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 December 2016 - 04:47 PM

Not sure of the actual rules, but from where I am from penalty is bottle of good red wine for hitting onto a green that was occupied.


Or on a public course, the penalty would be having the ball hit back at you.


Otherwise, play it as it lies.  The group ahead is an outside agency so lucky him.

#3 ColinCL


    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 540 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 20 December 2016 - 06:10 PM

Not so lucky!


A ball that is deliberately  stopped or deflected  in this way should not be played as it lies.  If the ball was played from anywhere other than  the putting green, the player must estimate where the ball would have come to rest had it not been stopped and play from there.  If the estimated spot is on the putting green the ball is placed; elsewhere it is dropped.  If it is in a hazard or out of bounds you proceed accordingly.


 If the ball was  played from the putting green, the stroke is cancelled and you replay it.


See the Note to Rule 19-1


Edited by ColinCL, 20 December 2016 - 06:39 PM.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users