Jump to content


 

Photo

Ball Marker Moved When In Position


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#31 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 08:17 AM

So if the local rule is not in place what is the general rule?

18-2. By Player, Partner, Caddie or Equipment

Except as permitted by the Rules, when a player's ball is in play, if

(i)

the player, his partner or either of their caddies:

lifts or moves the ball,

touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball), or

causes the ball to move, or

(ii)

the equipment of the player or his partner causes the ball to move, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke.

If the ball is moved, it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.



#32 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 09 December 2016 - 09:39 AM

I'm a little confused here, AAA.

 

Under 18-2 )i), a player addresses his ball (let's say he touches it with his putter, on the green), and the ball moves.  He only has to replace it without penalty, even without that new LR ?

 

The reason I ask is that at a recent event, a FC did just that. He was about to putt and I mentioned that he has to put it back which he did. When recording his score I asked if he included the 1 stroke penalty, which he wasn't keen on.  There was a rules official nearby so he clarified it with the official and then advised me that he was subject to the penalty.

 

But it appears that, under the exception, all he has to do is replace it.



#33 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 11:02 AM

I'm a little confused here, AAA.

 

Under 18-2 )i), a player addresses his ball (let's say he touches it with his putter, on the green), and the ball moves.  He only has to replace it without penalty, even without that new LR ?  Without the local Rule it is a one stroke penalty and he must replace the ball - Rule 18-2.

 

The reason I ask is that at a recent event, a FC did just that. He was about to putt and I mentioned that he has to put it back which he did. When recording his score I asked if he included the 1 stroke penalty, which he wasn't keen on.  There was a rules official nearby so he clarified it with the official and then advised me that he was subject to the penalty.  That is correct.

 

But it appears that, under the exception (local Rule), all he has to do is replace it.  That will be correct if the local Rule has been implemented at the competition/course.


  • Chunky McChunkerson likes this

#34 Chunky McChunkerson

Chunky McChunkerson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2611 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 09 December 2016 - 12:23 PM

Yeah I understood it as ROGOLF has explained. So it would be wise for most to raise it to their committee\pro to raise with the committee and bring attention to the LR and make sure it is in place for next comp.


Cap: 16.2 Gamegolf

WITB:

Primary: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi 60 Stiff Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | X Series Jaw Slate 54* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 60* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |

 

Holiday: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Project X LX 6.0 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on True Temper XP105 Stiff Shafts | X Series Jaw Slate 58* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 56* | Odyssey Metal-X #1 (2013)

Spares: X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Aldila Tour Green Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tours on Project X 5.5 3 - PW | X Series Jaw Slate 58* C Grind | X Series Jaw Slate 50* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 Slate 52* S Grind |

Goals: Get back to GA 15.9


#35 KAVL

KAVL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 90 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 12:32 PM

Yeah I understood it as ROGOLF has explained. So it would be wise for most to raise it to their committee\pro to raise with the committee and bring attention to the LR and make sure it is in place for next comp.

. . . the next comp in 2017. :)


  • Chunky McChunkerson likes this

#36 Chunky McChunkerson

Chunky McChunkerson

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2611 posts
  • LocationVic (Metro North)

Posted 09 December 2016 - 12:34 PM

. . . the next comp in 2017. :)

*ahem* Yeah that too :blush:  :blush:


Cap: 16.2 Gamegolf

WITB:

Primary: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Kuro Kage Silver TiNi 60 Stiff Shaft | Great Big Bertha 3W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Great Big Bertha 5W on Kuro Kage Black TiNi 50 Stiff Shaft | Cally X Forged 13's on Project X PXi 6.0 Steel shafts 3-PW | X Series Jaw Slate 54* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 Slate S Grind 60* | Odyssey Metal X Milled #1 |

 

Holiday: Big Bertha 1.5 Mini 12* on Project X LX 6.0 | Mizuno MP 54 4-PW on True Temper XP105 Stiff Shafts | X Series Jaw Slate 58* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 56* | Odyssey Metal-X #1 (2013)

Spares: X2 Hot Pro 8.5 on Aldila Tour Green Shaft | Wilson Staff FG Tours on Project X 5.5 3 - PW | X Series Jaw Slate 58* C Grind | X Series Jaw Slate 50* C Grind | Mack Daddy 2 Slate 52* S Grind |

Goals: Get back to GA 15.9


#37 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 09 December 2016 - 05:29 PM

Disregard the new LR.

What about the words "(except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)" ?

#38 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 09 December 2016 - 05:45 PM

Disregard the new LR.

What about the words "(except with a club in the act of addressing the ball)" ?

That only relates to touching the ball not moving it. Read it again. 

There is no penalty for touching you ball when addressing it providing it doesn't move

 

 

(if) the player, his partner or either of their caddies:

lifts or moves the ball,

touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball), or

causes the ball to move, or


Edited by AAA, 09 December 2016 - 05:46 PM.


#39 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 09 December 2016 - 09:44 PM

That only relates to touching the ball not moving it. Read it again.
There is no penalty for touching you ball when addressing it providing it doesn't move



(if) the player, his partner or either of their caddies:


lifts or moves the ball,



touches it purposely (except with a club in the act of addressing the ball), or



causes the ball to move, or

Ok, but the rule is about moving the ball. If the ball doesn't move as per the definition, why would this even get a mention there ?

Edited by OldBogey, 09 December 2016 - 09:45 PM.


#40 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 12:55 AM

I guess because players have historically often touched the ball when addressing it and if it doesn't move there is no reason to penalise.



#41 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 10 December 2016 - 12:41 PM

Because we don't want opponents or fellow-competitors down on their knees inspecting whether or not the player touched his ball at address?  Moving is a different issue.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users