Jump to content


 

Photo

Rule 28


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2766 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 06:29 PM

Seems to be some confusion at my club in regards to rule 28 on a certain hole. Par 4 with a large, round, dense bush on the left hand side of the fairway. This thing would be 50mtrs in circumference. The point in question seems to be thus. Do you need to find your ball to deem it unplayable? It is not a staked hazard. When I have hit into it I have hit a provisional and then searched for my first ball to no avail, but, I have seen other players dropping at or behind point of entry even though they haven't found their ball. 



#2 *Mouldy

*Mouldy

    I am a recovering shankaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16210 posts
  • Location45 deg right of my last shot

Posted 21 November 2016 - 06:44 PM

If you can't find your ball how can you take relief other than hitting another from where you hit into the bush.  Seems like some people are taking Irish Drops illegally.


Shanklink

 

OOM Tour

I am mid table mediocrity !

 

Baconwide Tour

Runner up 2015 Stink's 3 club challenge at Yarrambat

NAGA with Benny 2014 4bbb Championship at St Andrews Beach

Team Mercedes with Muff runners up 2017 4bbb Chanpionship Flinders

Runner up 2017 Southern Invitational

Winner 2017 Keysborough Invitational

 

Choppers Tour

Winner 2014 Ghetto's Placegetter Challenge at Sunshine

Winner 2015 Airy's invitational at Melbourne Airport

 


#3 ink

ink

    Power in (p)ink

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33256 posts
  • Location#keepfighting

Posted 21 November 2016 - 06:54 PM

is it GUR?



#4 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22504 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 November 2016 - 06:58 PM

If the ball cannot be found and identified, it is lost. Rule 28 does not apply.

Perhaps the bush needs a localised bush fire, or a working bee to 'tidy it up'.

Pending a fix-up, the club could declare it GUR. The remedy for a ball lost in GUR is a free drop.

Vastly different outcomes.

#5 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2766 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:03 PM

is it GUR?

Not gur



#6 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2766 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:10 PM

I guess the main question is do you need to find your ball to deem it unplayable? According to rule 28 the player is the sole arbiter of if the ball is unplayable. If the bush is 500mtrs either side and there is no chance the ball could have left the course bounds am I not entitled to declare it unplayable? I can declare a ball unplayable anywhere in the course except a water hazard.



#7 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22504 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:14 PM

Yes, you MUST find it in order to declare it unplayable, otherwise it's lost.

#8 ink

ink

    Power in (p)ink

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33256 posts
  • Location#keepfighting

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:16 PM

Yes, you MUST find it in order to declare it unplayable, otherwise it's lost.

I was under the impression that you could substitute the ball...



#9 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22504 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:19 PM

I was under the impression that you could substitute the ball...


If it's lost in GUR or a water hazard, or damaged, you may substitute. Otherwise it's a wrongful substitution.

#10 ink

ink

    Power in (p)ink

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33256 posts
  • Location#keepfighting

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:20 PM

If it's lost in GUR or a water hazard, or damaged, you may substitute. Otherwise it's a wrongful substitution.

do you have the full wording for rule 28, as I would like to see what it says...



#11 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2766 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:27 PM

Rule 28Ball Unplayable 28 Ball Unplayable

The player may deem his ball unplayable at any place on the course
, except when the ball is in a water hazard. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or

c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.

If the unplayable ball is in a bunker
, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker
.

When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.

 



#12 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22504 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:28 PM

If your original ball is lost, of course you put another ball into play.

In the original scenario, dropping a substitute ball behind the bush means you are playing from a wrong place. You don't get hit with 2-stroke penalties for both a substitution and wrong place, only one 2-stroke penalty. But, if the wrong place is significantly forward of where the ball should be played (in this case back on the tee), you're disqualified.

#13 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22504 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:29 PM

do you have the full wording for rule 28, as I would like to see what it says...


Don't you have a rule book handy?
Use the internet.

#14 ink

ink

    Power in (p)ink

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33256 posts
  • Location#keepfighting

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:30 PM

Don't you have a rule book handy?
Use the internet.

Yeah, mine says you can substitute a ball under rule 28a

#15 The Robinator

The Robinator

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2766 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:31 PM

Players are clutching at straws in order to avoid going back to the tee.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users