Jump to content


 

Photo

Playing The Wrong Hole


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#61 lord of the river

lord of the river

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 10:50 PM

You were fine with what you did. Equally you would have been fine to replay the hole played in which case you would take the result of the replay. See Decision 2-1/5

http://www.usga.org/...ision-02,d2-1-5


Bloody hell, here we were just being lazy bastards :)

Thanks Colin

#62 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 508 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 08 January 2017 - 07:26 AM

Bloody hell, here we were just being lazy bastards :)
 

 

Is that Aussie speak for making a cool appraisal of the situation and determining the correct course of action?  ;)


  • BumpunRun and pom like this

#63 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22683 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 08 January 2017 - 07:23 PM

Is that Aussie speak for making a cool appraisal of the situation and determining the correct course of action?  ;)


More likely that it was just dumb luck.
  • pom likes this

#64 lord of the river

lord of the river

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 05:16 AM

More likely that it was just dumb luck.


Haters are going to hate

#65 languid

languid

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1691 posts

Posted 12 January 2017 - 02:27 PM

The thread is long. I noticed reference to the Withdrawn Decision. Like some mentioned I thought the Decision was useful.
Did anyone mention Decision 20-7/4?
The last paragraph of this Decison which covers an Environmentally-Sensitive area situation states "The same principles would apply to strokes made in other areas on the course from which Play is prohibited ( e.g. Ground under repair from which relief is mandatory or a wrong putting green). The Decision establishes that the strokes count and the penalty of 2 strokes applies to each stroke taken in the play prohibited area and the player must play out the hole with ball played from the ESA ( or wrong putting green in this case) .This is a New Decision 2016/2017.
From what I recall of Colin CL's post this is where he went. It makes sense that 2 strokes penalty for breach of Rule 25-3 also apply.
Apologies for wasting people's time if I have done so.

#66 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22683 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 12 January 2017 - 03:21 PM

Any valid discussion is not a waste of time, particularly if alternate interpretations could readily be deduced.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users