Jump to content


 

Photo

Playing The Wrong Hole


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#31 Toph

Toph

    No golf allowed

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4558 posts
  • LocationProbably at work

Posted 23 November 2016 - 02:02 PM

I was taught that two things not the same are different. Are you just trying to confuse the situation? As above, wrong ball is a different Rule altogether and not applicable.

I think what OB was trying to say (I might be wrong) is that both cases are errors of similar magnitude (wrong ball, wrong hole) but in one case you go back to the scene of the original error with a penalty, whereas in the other you are forced to continue from the scene of the discovery of the mistake with penalties for every wrong shot in between. Which appears to be potentially quite a disparity.
I'm just pissed off OK? Don't ask.
READ EM AND WEEP
http://www.golflink....k_No=4072302355

#32 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 23 November 2016 - 03:08 PM

I think what OB was trying to say (I might be wrong) is that both cases are errors of similar magnitude (wrong ball, wrong hole) but in one case you go back to the scene of the original error with a penalty, whereas in the other you are forced to continue from the scene of the discovery of the mistake with penalties for every wrong shot in between. Which appears to be potentially quite a disparity.

There is no "disparity", just two different Rules with different results.  They are not the same, ie, they are different.  OB knows that.



#33 Goldy

Goldy

    Got any Greek in you?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35450 posts
  • LocationWant some?

Posted 23 November 2016 - 03:08 PM

Does he?

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#34 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 23 November 2016 - 03:09 PM

Does he?

Ought to, it's not his first rodeo.


  • RulesDoc likes this

#35 Goldy

Goldy

    Got any Greek in you?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35450 posts
  • LocationWant some?

Posted 23 November 2016 - 03:17 PM

Ought to, it's not his first rodeo.


Yeah...but he seems to end up getting bucked more often than not.

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#36 ink

ink

    Power in (p)ink

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32670 posts
  • Location#keepfighting

Posted 23 November 2016 - 05:17 PM

tool down



#37 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 23 November 2016 - 10:43 PM

But this is a wrong place issue. A different rule which says nothing about not counting strokes played.

  

I was taught that two things not the same are different.  Are you just trying to confuse the situation?  As above, wrong ball is a different Rule altogether and not applicable.

  

I think what OB was trying to say (I might be wrong) is that both cases are errors of similar magnitude (wrong ball, wrong hole) but in one case you go back to the scene of the original error with a penalty, whereas in the other you are forced to continue from the scene of the discovery of the mistake with penalties for every wrong shot in between. Which appears to be potentially quite a disparity.


As Toph said, similar situations treated differently. No, not exactly the same, but a different methodology applied and different rule numbers.
And some people wonder why the Rules seem 'difficult'.

#38 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2908 posts

Posted 24 November 2016 - 01:39 AM

Not really similar except for the word 'wrong'.

 

Balls and places are not even remotely similar.



#39 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 337 posts

Posted 24 November 2016 - 04:03 AM

    
As Toph said, similar situations treated differently. No, not exactly the same, but a different methodology applied and different rule numbers.
And some people wonder why the Rules seem 'difficult'.

 

Quite different situations - in one case you are not making strokes with your ball in play (a wrong ball) and those strokes will not count in your score; in the other case you are making strokes with your ball in play and those strokes will count in your score.  Pretty simple in my mind.


Edited by rogolf, 24 November 2016 - 04:05 AM.

  • pom and Madambo like this

#40 Toph

Toph

    No golf allowed

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4558 posts
  • LocationProbably at work

Posted 24 November 2016 - 06:45 AM

Quite different situations - in one case you are not making strokes with your ball in play (a wrong ball) and those strokes will not count in your score; in the other case you are making strokes with your ball in play and those strokes will count in your score. Pretty simple in my mind.

That's a good explanation
  • BumpunRun likes this
I'm just pissed off OK? Don't ask.
READ EM AND WEEP
http://www.golflink....k_No=4072302355

#41 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 24 November 2016 - 03:19 PM

I was highlighting similarities, not nitpicking differences.

I wonder why I bothered.



#42 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4264 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 24 November 2016 - 03:21 PM

I was highlighting similarities, not nitpicking differences.

I wonder why I bothered.

You probably shouldn't have. 



#43 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11164 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 24 November 2016 - 03:23 PM

I was highlighting similarities, not nitpicking differences.

I wonder why I bothered.

maybe just remember this for next time 


"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"

#44 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22034 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 24 November 2016 - 03:24 PM

Remember what?  I've forgotten.



#45 BumpunRun

BumpunRun

    Year of the Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11164 posts
  • LocationThirteen point twenty-four warning points

Posted 24 November 2016 - 03:26 PM

exactly my point 


"But sometimes there are more important things in life than being pedantic about the rules of golf, or spelling and grammar on golf forums"




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users