Jump to content


 

Photo

Playing The Wrong Hole


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#16 Old Poppy

Old Poppy

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5610 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 09:22 AM

If this actually happened, why would somebody own up to it?

#17 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 474 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 22 November 2016 - 10:29 AM

Presumably Decision 1-4/12 Clause 2 is the guidance.

I expect you meant Clause 3?  Anyway I was applying  Clause 6 Example 3 on the basis  that the link between the two breaches is "broken"  being two distinct strokes.  That being said, it makes more sense to penalise the player only once for his error.  It's not helpful to have had the very Decision needed to rule correctly withdrawn!



#18 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21630 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 November 2016 - 02:19 PM

It's interesting that this is treated differently to playing a wrong ball, where additional strokes after the error are not counted. You go back to where the error was made, add two and continue on.

 

If this example was treated in like manner, then taking the first putt on the wrong green was the error. Go back to there, drop off the wrong green, add two and continue.



#19 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37574 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 22 November 2016 - 03:04 PM

Isn't that what the Decision said OB?
HandicapBest result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th WoodlandsGoal: A round at par or better!Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club ChampionBrisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the YearWinner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope IslandWinner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at WoodlandsSouth East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer<p>http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer

#20 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37574 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 22 November 2016 - 03:06 PM

What does a withdrawn decision mean? Is the decision that was documented now considered wrong - or can you treat it as if it was still in place and if someone argues with you say that the old Decision was that way so I went the same way?
HandicapBest result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th WoodlandsGoal: A round at par or better!Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club ChampionBrisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the YearWinner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope IslandWinner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at WoodlandsSouth East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer<p>http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer

#21 ------

------

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17397 posts
  • Location.

Posted 22 November 2016 - 03:17 PM

Isn't that what the Decision said OB?

 

We always need his confirmation before a thread can be locked.

 

Lock the thread.


Edited by The Pres, 22 November 2016 - 03:18 PM.


#22 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21630 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:40 PM

Isn't that what the Decision said OB?


Without going back a page or two, didn't it say that you still count all the putts but only one 2-stroke penalty ?

#23 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21630 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:42 PM

We always need his confirmation before a thread can be locked.
 
Lock the thread.


Not yet confirmed. Lock your own thread.

#24 2Putts

2Putts

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9552 posts
  • LocationDown on the farm

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:49 PM

I'm surprised Ink isn't all over this thread title. 

 

I thought the Accidental Ball Contact thread would have been his playground .... adjacent holes provide all sorts problems for young players .....


  • Itchy4Scratch likes this

http://www.golflink....k_no=2121701916

 

 

After all is said and done ..... more will be said than done .....


#25 ------

------

    .

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17397 posts
  • Location.

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:55 PM

adjacent holes provide all sorts problems for young players .....


More of a problem for females.
  • dunteachin likes this

#26 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 37574 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:57 PM

Without going back a page or two, didn't it say that you still count all the putts but only one 2-stroke penalty ?


Ah - yep that's right
HandicapBest result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th WoodlandsGoal: A round at par or better!Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club ChampionBrisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the YearWinner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope IslandWinner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at WoodlandsSouth East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer<p>http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer

#27 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2896 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 05:42 PM

I expect you meant Clause 3?  

I did  :(



#28 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21630 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 November 2016 - 08:31 PM

Ah - yep that's right


Well, that's different to ignoring the additional strokes taken on a wrong ball.

#29 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2896 posts

Posted 23 November 2016 - 02:43 AM

Well, that's different to ignoring the additional strokes taken on a wrong ball.

But this is a wrong place issue. A different rule which says nothing about not counting strokes played.



#30 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 328 posts

Posted 23 November 2016 - 10:55 AM

Well, that's different to ignoring the additional strokes taken on a wrong ball.

 

I was taught that two things not the same are different.  Are you just trying to confuse the situation?  As above, wrong ball is a different Rule altogether and not applicable.


Edited by rogolf, 23 November 2016 - 10:57 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users