Jump to content


 

Photo

Playing The Wrong Hole


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#1 leenn

leenn

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 527 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 03:13 PM

I'm playing the 15 th hole (a par 4), I slice my ball off the tee on to the fairway of the 17 th  hole which runs parallel and in the same direction as the 15 th.

 

I hit my ball up the 17 th fairway onto the 17 th green. Tiered and drained from a poor round and the sapping sun I don't realise I'm on the 17th, 

 

I 2 putt my ball down for par only to realise that I'm on the wrong green and my playing group are on the 15 th. Do the 2 putts count to my total score of the day? Do I get 2 by 2 stroke penalties (i.e. 4 stroke penalty in total) for the 2 putts on the wrong green.

 

Do I play the next actual 'valid' stroke to the 15th green from 'nearest point of relief' from where my ball 1st landed on to the 17th green or from 'nearest point of relief' from the 17th hole (where my ball is currently lying at the bottom of the cup).

 

Don’t ask why I didn’t realise earlier.


  • GhettoGolfer and ozdevil like this

#2 The good Egg

The good Egg

    oh!! that lady swallowed a baby!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7943 posts
  • LocationNewcastle

Posted 21 November 2016 - 03:23 PM

You serious!!!
Drop off the green, then play to your hole with a 10 stroke penalty thrown in for good measure

#3 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 484 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 21 November 2016 - 04:26 PM

Where do 10 penalty strokes come from?

 

Teeshot =1

Shot to 17th green  =1

Shot on wrong green =1

2 penalty strokes for breach of 25-3= 2

2nd shot on wrong green  = 1

2 penalty strokes for breach of 25-3 = 2

8 strokes to this point +  whatever number of strokes to hole out from correct place having taken relief from wrong green.

 

In my view, you take where the ball lies after the 2nd stroke on the wrong green as your reference point for then correctly taking relief from the wrong putting green - in this case the hole


Edited by ColinCL, 21 November 2016 - 04:26 PM.


#4 The good Egg

The good Egg

    oh!! that lady swallowed a baby!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7943 posts
  • LocationNewcastle

Posted 21 November 2016 - 04:43 PM

Tongue was firmly in cheek but i still wasnt far off 😁
  • Groove_Snob and RobNewy like this

#5 YouGottaHitIt

YouGottaHitIt

    8 for 2

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1446 posts

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:27 PM

Tongue was firmly in cheek but i still wasnt far off 😁

Totally wasted in this thread.
  • koiom K Frenzy likes this

If you can read this you're too close!
http://www.golflink....k_No=3040204856


#6 Goldy

Goldy

    Got any Greek in you?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35667 posts
  • LocationWant some?

Posted 21 November 2016 - 07:36 PM

I'm playing the 15 th hole (a par 4), I slice my ball off the tee on to the fairway of the 17 th  hole which runs parallel and in the same direction as the 15 th.
 
I hit my ball up the 17 th fairway onto the 17 th green. Tiered and drained from a poor round and the sapping sun I don't realise I'm on the 17th, 
 
I 2 putt my ball down for par only to realise that I'm on the wrong green and my playing group are on the 15 th. Do the 2 putts count to my total score of the day? Do I get 2 by 2 stroke penalties (i.e. 4 stroke penalty in total) for the 2 putts on the wrong green.
 
Do I play the next actual 'valid' stroke to the 15th green from 'nearest point of relief' from where my ball 1st landed on to the 17th green or from 'nearest point of relief' from the 17th hole (where my ball is currently lying at the bottom of the cup).
 
Don’t ask why I didn’t realise earlier.


I can see your group is gonna have some interesting moments on Sunday.
  • leenn, GPJ_Longdriver, koiom K Frenzy and 1 other like this

Winner Moonah Legends 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner The National 2013 ISG Nationals | Winner 4BBB 2013 ISG Nationals
Winner Stink's 3 Club Challenge 2015 | Winner C grade OOM The Sands 2016

Hole-in-one Growling Frog 14/1/17 5th hole 137m TM RBZ 5 hybrid / Srixon AD333 ball | Growling Frog GC Matchplay Champion 2017

Other, less impressive stuff...(I know...it's marginal...)
R/Up ISG Nationals 2013 | C Grade LD Growling Frog 8/2/14, 11th hole, TM R1, HOF Patriot shaft, testicles of steel | NTP 2nd hole Kooindah Waters 2014 ISG Nationals

3 Birdies in one round The Glades 2015 ISG Nationals | R/Up 4BBB 2015 ISG Nationals | NTP 16th hole Growling Frog OOM 2017

Low Handicap point 12.7 9/4/16

Finally...and most importantly...
Smoldy....when only the best will do.
Goldlink


#7 RulesGeek

RulesGeek

    Average Member; Advanced Technique

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1205 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 03:49 AM

Where do 10 penalty strokes come from?

 

Teeshot =1

Shot to 17th green  =1

Shot on wrong green =1

2 penalty strokes for breach of 25-3= 2

2nd shot on wrong green  = 1

2 penalty strokes for breach of 25-3 = 2

8 strokes to this point +  whatever number of strokes to hole out from correct place having taken relief from wrong green.

 

In my view, you take where the ball lies after the 2nd stroke on the wrong green as your reference point for then correctly taking relief from the wrong putting green - in this case the hole

 

The next time you [speaking generally, not of Colin specifically] hear someone complaining about there being too many Decisions, you should consider the scenario in this thread as it was covered explicitly by Decision 25-3/2 before that Decision was Withdrawn, purely to reduce the number of Decisions, in 2010.  Here's what it said:

 

25-3/2 Player Makes Several Strokes on Wrong Putting Green

Q. In playing the 4th hole, a player plays his second shot onto the 7th green, believing it to be the 4th green. He marks the position of and lifts and cleans his ball. He then holes out in two putts on the 7th green before he is advised of his error. What is the ruling?

A. In equity (Rule 1-4), the player incurs no penalty under Rule 18-2a for lifting his ball in play without authority.

In match play, the player lost the hole when he made the first stroke on the wrong putting green -- Rule 25-3.

In stroke play, Rule 25-3 does not contemplate a player making more than one stroke from the same wrong putting green. In equity (Rule 1-4), the player incurs a total penalty of two strokes under Rule 25-3. The two strokes made on the 7th green would count toward his score on the 4th hole.

When taking relief under Rule 25-3, the player would use the final location of the ball (in this case the hole on the 7th green) as the reference point for taking relief.

The same answer would apply to other areas on the course from which play is prohibited (e.g., ground under repair from which relief is mandatory or environmentally-sensitive areas).

 

--------


  • leenn likes this

sigimage.png


#8 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2910 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 04:46 AM

I wonder how much paper that saved (relatively)? And I wonder how many people will now get it wrong?

Or was Colin's suggestion wrong if there is no guidance?



#9 rogolf

rogolf

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 05:30 AM

I wonder how much paper that saved (relatively)? And I wonder how many people will now get it wrong?

Or was Colin's suggestion wrong if there is no guidance?

 

I'm sure "saving paper" was not even considered - reducing the number of decisions was the goal.



#10 Weetbix

Weetbix

    Par in my sight

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 39083 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Queensland

Posted 22 November 2016 - 06:09 AM

So only the first of Colin's two 2 shot penalties would apply - in equity?

6 strokes rather than 8, plus whatever it takes to hole out?

Handicap

Best result: 2 over 74 at Hills International on 13 Feb 2016

Eagles: 21/10/16 17th Keysborough, 24/10/16 18th Woodlands

Goal: A round at par or better!

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Club Champion

Brisbane Fairways 2015 Clubman of the Year

Winner: 2015 Nationals day 5 round at Links Hope Island

Winner: 2016 Nationals day 5 round at Woodlands

South East Queensland Golf Group - Treasurer

http://www.brisbanef...ssocialgolf.com - Treasurer


#11 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2910 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 06:49 AM

So only the first of Colin's two 2 shot penalties would apply - in equity?

 

Presumably Decision 1-4/12 Clause 2 is the guidance.


Edited by AAA, 22 November 2016 - 06:50 AM.


#12 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2910 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 06:55 AM

I'm sure "saving paper" was not even considered - reducing the number of decisions was the goal.

I thought it was a useful decision. I have seen the situation (or had it reported to me) many times in club play.

Winter greens are in play but some still believe they can play from the normal green if they use a putter. The leave it short and have another go. 



#13 Snappy McSnapperton

Snappy McSnapperton

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1213 posts

Posted 22 November 2016 - 08:48 AM

You serious!!!
Drop off the green, then play to your hole with a 10 stroke penalty thrown in for good measure

please delete this post for humour and insufficient train spotting tendencies. 


If I can win an OOM anyone can. 
 
http://www.golflink....k_no=3012646041

 

 


#14 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22283 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 22 November 2016 - 09:05 AM

please delete this post for humour and insufficient train spotting tendencies. 

 

Don't you mean insufficient humour plus train spotting tendencies ?



#15 Itchy4Scratch

Itchy4Scratch

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4446 posts
  • LocationSE Melbourne

Posted 22 November 2016 - 09:14 AM

I'm surprised Ink isn't all over this thread title. 


  • Groove_Snob, koiom K Frenzy and Snappy McSnapperton like this




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users