Jump to content


 

Photo

Preferred Lies


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22385 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 19 September 2014 - 04:27 PM

But when does a tee stop being equipment and become 'abandoned'?

 

When it has been left there by a previous player.

 

I played with a guy who bought a bag of 200 cheap tees for something like $2.  He felt it wasn't worth the effort of picking it up after using it.



#17 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2916 posts

Posted 19 September 2014 - 05:09 PM

If I am correct about the ricochet ruling (above), what about the following scenarios?

 

1) Player plays from the teeing ground off a tee. Ball goes OB. Player plays again off the ground but this ball ricochets back and hits his original tee still lying on the ground. Is the tee still his equipment?

 

2) Player plays from the teeing ground off a tee. Player goes forward but cannot find ball so returns to teeing ground. Player plays again off the ground but this ball ricochets back and hits his original tee still lying on the ground. Is the tee still his equipment?



#18 ColinCL

ColinCL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 489 posts
  • LocationEdinburgh, Scotland

Posted 19 September 2014 - 05:37 PM

This is no more than a suggestion.  In order to have clarity as to the precise moment the tee ceases to be equipment, making a further stroke would work.  In which case the tee would  not be equipment in either of your questions



#19 RulesGeek

RulesGeek

    Average Member; Advanced Technique

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1205 posts

Posted 20 September 2014 - 04:08 AM

Reading this Decision I would say that removing the tee isn't a breach, but the someone-player is entitled to have it replaced.

 

RG, DH?

 

I agree.


  • RulesDoc likes this

sigimage.png


#20 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8340 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 07 January 2017 - 10:21 PM

As a sort of a follow up....
I'm aware that if you prefer your lie and balls decides to roll of said lie before you have your shot it's bad luck....
Where does this fall into the deck of cards....
Player prefers his lie
Selects club
Addresses ball
Takes his swing
On the down swing ball decides to abandon preferred lie....
There is no way player can stop his swing but manages to hit the ball which is now in motion. ..
Thoughts clever people

VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#21 KAVL

KAVL

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 90 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 10:38 PM

Decision 14-5/1 Ball Moving During Backswing Struck While Still Moving
 
Q. A player's ball starts moving during his backswing and he strikes the ball while it is still moving. What is the ruling?
 
A. There is no penalty under Rule 14-5 because the ball began to move after the player had begun his backswing. However, if the player had caused the ball to move, he incurred a penalty stroke - Rule 18-2. 


#22 pegasus2357

pegasus2357

    Visionary

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 8340 posts
  • LocationTol free Zone

Posted 08 January 2017 - 08:02 AM

 

Decision 14-5/1 Ball Moving During Backswing Struck While Still Moving
 
Q. A player's ball starts moving during his backswing and he strikes the ball while it is still moving. What is the ruling?
 
A. There is no penalty under Rule 14-5 because the ball began to move after the player had begun his backswing. However, if the player had caused the ball to move, he incurred a penalty stroke - Rule 18-2. 

 

 

Thanks

That is what we decided on course however a counter view was offered in club post round....

Player did nothing to cause ball to move, just did well to hit a moving target


VTTP 006

 

Miracle

 

 


#23 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Defining and analysing humour is a pastime of humourless people

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 22385 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 08 January 2017 - 07:21 PM

Just for Goldy: confirmed.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users