59 replies to this topic

#1 Special07

Special07

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 18 April 2013 - 10:23 AM

Hi guys, new around here and thought I'd start a thread to document my journey, know there's plenty of threads like this but could be for my own use more than anything but would love input and people sharing similar experiences also. Short of the story is I am 23, played golf since about 15 but only ever 2 or 3 times a year, maybe 5 or 6 on a good year. And completely self taught with my Dad often attempting to give me advice but mostly ignore it because I'm stubborn that way. Anyway this year I played my first game for over a year and got the bug back. Got new clubs, have had a bit of spare time and trying to really work hard on improving and lower my scores. Probably the reason I never got fully into it and invested in time playing and new clubs is because my score was always around 100, but I realised it's near impossible to improve without playing regularly so here I am now. In the space of about a month I have played about 7 times and range a few times and have gone from the first game being 107 to the last 93 and the best in that time a 92 but also a couple others close to 100. So I am inconsistent. I slice the ball hard off the driver, have been trying so hard myself to correct it but realised I need help so had a lesson and booked in for more. Changed my grip, little bit of swing path, routine etc but gave me a better understanding of what goes into a swing and why we do things the way we do. Next lesson will be spent on really correcting that slice. So far I am more consistent with the irons especially but still slice probably every 2nd one of the driver and even the good ones still cut or fade right. So really want to get that out of my game and then I feel from there I will only get better with practice. First aim is to score below a 90, on a decent course. I played on Montuna the other day and could have broken it eas