• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Mark0

Mark0

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:00 AM

Hi All I have been looking for some new irons for a month or so, I was really keen on Burner 2 or 3's which I can get for about $350-$399 or Burner OS for $399. I have done a lot of reading on all the clubs and I see they are a game improvement club, I don't really know what My handicap is I am a beginner that's starting to get right into it, My last game for example I got +23 (and I got +5 on the last 9) shows how bad my first 9 was. I currently have a 9 year old set of Fireform 2000 clubs which are just some cheap knock offs. Anyone got recommendations on these clubs own them use them, if so whats your handicap ? I have a Burner Driver and Like that.

#2 no_brainer

no_brainer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:35 AM

I just went through getting new clubs (completely different set of circumstances but the theory still applies). Go to you nearest major outlet and hit as many brands and styles as you can that are within your budget. Don't go in with preconceived ideas. You ideally want a set that has room to grow so anything that is in the 'Game Improvement'area will be about right. I had for the last 5 years a set of Powerbilt Clubs and they were great, very consistent nice to hit. They allowed my game to develop to the point where I have now out-grown them (hence the new clubs) For me after trialing most brands and a number of models within each I came out choosing Cobra AMPs. So they get a thumbs up from me. At the end of the day get fitted and take your time and you will be rewarded. Don't feel any pressure from anyone to go for a set brand or model. Happy hunting

#3 Robinator

Robinator

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1159 posts

Posted 27 December 2012 - 06:23 PM