Jump to content


 

 

 

 

Special Promotions

Photo

tried to stop shot


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Groove_Snob

Groove_Snob

    NCCSSC COC ;)

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3105 posts
  • LocationIn the garage grinding the grooves of my irons!!

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:28 AM

Ok, I was halfway through my downswing and a bee landed on my ball. I quickly tried pulling out of the shot but just clipped the ball and sent it basically at right angles into a bunker. Unsure of what to do i put another ball down and played it from the same spot. And continued playing both balls until i holed both of them..... First ball (which ended in the bunker) i ended up taking double bogey 6, the other ball i birdied with..... Asked the pro after the round and he said the correct score was the 6..... Was that the correct ruling??

#2 Deege

Deege

    Really nice person

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2330 posts
  • LocationMelbourne

Posted 24 November 2012 - 03:02 AM

I think it is a stroke. The definition of a stroke specifies that if you check your stroke before you hit it then it is not a stroke, so I interpret that to mean that if you don't manage to check your stroke before you hit it, then it counts.

#3 AAA

AAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2486 posts

Posted 24 November 2012 - 05:04 AM

14/1.5 - Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball Q. A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke? A. No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball. If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke. Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.

#4 Groove_Snob

Groove_Snob

    NCCSSC COC ;)

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3105 posts
  • LocationIn the garage grinding the grooves of my irons!!

Posted 24 November 2012 - 07:42 AM

thanks AAA, and Deege..... Appreciate the answer..... Stupid bee!!

#5 OldBogey

OldBogey

    Spelling commando

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13429 posts
  • LocationRegional Victoria

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:49 AM

So why did you try and stop? Were you not wanting a 'stinger' shot?

#6 Groove_Snob

Groove_Snob

    NCCSSC COC ;)

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3105 posts
  • LocationIn the garage grinding the grooves of my irons!!

Posted 24 November 2012 - 06:32 PM

OB.... That is both lame and funny at the same time....... I don't know whether to laugh or shake my head!! ;)

#7 Tolmij

Tolmij

    Happy Chappy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 17480 posts
  • LocationSouth of Boganville

Posted 24 November 2012 - 10:02 PM

Being a staunch conservationist, I can see his point, that bee through the process of evolution could have produced the next physics genius, or the next Tiger.

#8 Groove_Snob

Groove_Snob

    NCCSSC COC ;)

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3105 posts
  • LocationIn the garage grinding the grooves of my irons!!

Posted 28 November 2012 - 07:58 AM

I think the producers of 'the golf show' must read stuff on this site...... This was the exact ruling they had in their rules segment tonight!!

#9 Whitednj

Whitednj

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1336 posts

Posted 30 November 2012 - 08:43 PM

That's the bees knees!

#10 koiom K Frenzy

koiom K Frenzy

    AKA Details Available Next Business Day

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4341 posts
  • LocationBack in town

Posted 30 November 2012 - 08:57 PM

I bet it created a buzz in your playing group dad jokes FTW!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users